Best Cat Bed for Maine Coon: Five Beds Compared by Listed Size and Weight Limit

Best Cat Bed for Maine Coon: Five Beds Compared by Listed Size and Weight Limit

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Check the current price on Amazon.

The best cat bed for Maine Coon depends on weight and floor space more than on the bed’s name. The Cat Fanciers’ Association describes the breed as the largest of all pedigreed cats, and says a mature male’s weight is not unusual at 20 pounds or more, with females usually smaller. This post compares five beds whose listing details state a size of 24 inches or more, or a weight limit of 20 pounds or more. None of the listings mentions Maine Coon, so every fit judgment here uses the stated figures only.

Quick answer

  • The Whiskers and Friends bed has the most floor space in this set, at its 31-inch size, and a 45-pound figure in its bullets. Its details field says 20 pounds, so confirm which figure applies before buying.
  • The Western Home listing gives 35 pounds for its 27-inch size in both its bullets and its details field.
  • The Mora Pets pad gives 25 pounds in its details field and up to 50 pounds in a bullet. Use the lower figure until the listing is clearer.
  • None of the listings names the Maine Coon. Compare each stated limit with the 20-pound figure the breed association gives for a mature male.

How we chose

We kept a bed when its listing details state at least one of two figures: a weight limit of 20 pounds or more, or a size of 24 inches or more on one side. The listing details in this post were recorded on 19 October 2026. The pages cited at the end of this post were opened on 21 October 2026. Listing details are not cited as sources.

Eleven beds were considered for this topic, and five met the test. Six did not: a 15.7-inch cave bed with a 10-pound limit, a 20-inch Hoewina donut bed with a 10-pound limit, a 20-inch Bedsure bed with a 15-pound limit, a 20-inch Asvin bed with a 15-pound limit, a 20-inch BALANCE bed with no weight limit stated, and an 18.1-inch Hewfirm basket with no weight limit stated.

We did not rank the five. A ranking would need a basis we do not have, so the order below follows the table, not a score.

Comparison table as stated on each listing

Bed Sizes the listing states Weight limit the listing states Care or heat note the listing states
Western Home WH Calming Round Dog and Cat Bed 20, 24 and 27 inches (bullets); 20 by 20 by 8 inches (details) 11, 25 and 35 pounds by size (bullets); 35 pounds (details) Machine wash; dry at low heat (bullet)
Whiskers and Friends Fluffy Cat Bed 20, 23 and 31 inches square (bullets); 20 by 20 by 6 inches (details) 15, 25 and 45 pounds by size (bullets); 20 pounds (details) Gentle wash; tumble dry on low heat (bullet)
Mora Pets Self-Heating Cat Pad 24 by 18, 29.1 by 18.9 and 35 by 23.6 inches (bullet) 25 pounds (details); up to 50 pounds (bullet) No plugs or cords (bullet); removable cover machine washable (Mora page)
WanpeeGoo Reversible Self-Warming Cat Pad 18 by 24 inches (title); 18 by 24 and 24 by 36 inches (bullet) not stated Spot clean or wipe (bullet); hand wash or gentle machine cycle (details)
K&H Self-Warming Cat Bed Pad 21 by 17 by 1 inches (details) 20 pounds (details) Machine washable (bullet)

Where a listing gives no figure, the cell says not stated. The sizes are written as the listing gives them, and we have not converted units.

The five beds

Western Home WH Calming Round Dog and Cat Bed

Why it is here: Its bullets give a weight limit for each of three sizes, and the details field agrees with the largest size’s 35-pound figure.

  • Bullet: “a 27-inch dog calming bed (up to 35 pounds)”, with a 24-inch size up to 25 pounds and a 20-inch size up to 11 pounds.
  • Details field: 20 by 20 by 8 inches, a maximum weight recommendation of 35 pounds, dog breed size Small, and target species Dog.
  • Bullet: anti-slip PVC dot bottom, and a machine wash with a low-heat dry after washing.

Limit: The title says dog and cat, but the details field names the target species as Dog. The listing does not settle which animal it is built for.

Skip if: you need the 20-inch size for a large cat, because the listing caps that size at 11 pounds.

View on Amazon

Whiskers and Friends Fluffy Cat Bed

Why it is here: Its 31-inch size is the largest bed in the set by floor space, and its bullets give a weight limit for each size.

  • Bullet: “Sized for snuggles: 20×20” (up to 15 lb), 23×23” (up to 25 lb), and 31×31” (up to 45 lb).”
  • Details field: 20 by 20 by 6 inches, a maximum weight recommendation of 20 pounds, and target species Dog.
  • Bullet: a self-warming cuddler nest with a raised rim, and a gentle wash with tumble drying on low heat.

Limit: The details field caps the bed at 20 pounds, while the 31-inch bullet says 45 pounds. The listing does not say which figure applies to the 31-inch size.

Skip if: your cat is near 20 pounds and you need the 45-pound figure to be correct, because the details field disagrees with it.

View on Amazon

Mora Pets Self-Heating Cat Pad

Why it is here: Its listed sizes run to 35 by 23.6 inches, and the Mora Pets product page we opened lists two of the three sizes, 24 by 18 and 29.1 by 18.9 inches.

  • Bullet: “Available in three sizes 24 x 18 inch / 29.1 x 18.9 inch / 35 x 23.6 inch.”
  • Bullet: “2x Warmer Self Heating Tech: No plugs or cords needed!”
  • Details field: maximum weight recommendation of 25 pounds, and a rectangular item shape.
  • Mora page: L 29.1 by 18.9 inches, M 24 by 18 inches, polyester, and a removable cover that is machine washable and dryer friendly.

Limit: The listing gives two weight limits, 25 pounds in the details field and up to 50 pounds in a bullet. The Mora page does not list a weight, and the 35 by 23.6 inch size does not appear on the page we opened.

Skip if: you want raised sides. The listing gives the shape as rectangular and does not mention a rim or bolster.

View on Amazon

WanpeeGoo Reversible Self-Warming Cat Pad

Why it is here: Its 24 by 36 inch size gives 864 square inches of floor space, the second largest in this set after the Whiskers and Friends 31-inch bed.

  • Bullet: “Available in two sizes, 18″x24″ and 24″x36″, this versatile bed is suitable for a variety of pets, from small cats to larger dogs.”
  • Bullet: a thermal foil layer under the fleece side, and a cooling ice silk fabric on the reverse.
  • Details field: no maximum weight recommendation is given.

Limit: The listing gives no weight limit at all, and its care instructions disagree. The bullet says spot clean or wipe down, while the details field says hand wash only or machine wash on a gentle cycle.

Skip if: you need a weight limit on the label before you decide. The listing does not give one.

View on Amazon

K&H Self-Warming Cat Bed Pad

Why it is here: It is the smallest pad in the set, at 21 by 17 inches and 357 square inches, but its listing states a 20-pound limit, which matches the weight the breed association gives for a mature male.

  • Details field: 21 by 17 by 1 inches, a maximum weight recommendation of 20 pounds, indoor use, and a one-year limited manufacturer warranty.
  • Bullet: “This pad makes a slight crinkle sound that is attractive to most cats, however it may not be suitable for cats with noise sensitivity.”
  • Bullet: machine washable, with a one-year manufacturer’s coverage.

Limit: At 21 by 17 inches, the pad is the smallest here, so a large cat would have little spare room on it. The listing does not say whether the pad is meant for one cat or several.

Skip if: the cat stretches out to sleep, or the crinkle sound would bother it, since the listing says it may not suit noise-sensitive cats.

View on Amazon

Floor space from the listed sizes

For a rectangle, area is length times width. For a round bed, area is pi times the radius squared. We assume the 27-inch Western Home size is a diameter, because the bed is round; the listing does not say which measurement it gives. The table uses the largest size each listing states.

Bed and size Size used Formula Area (square inches)
Whiskers and Friends, 31-inch size 31 by 31 inches 31 x 31 961
WanpeeGoo, 24 by 36 size 24 by 36 inches 24 x 36 864
Mora Pets, 35 by 23.6 size 35 by 23.6 inches 35 x 23.6 826
Western Home, 27-inch size 27-inch diameter pi x 13.5 squared 573
K&H pad 21 by 17 inches 21 x 17 357

The Mora pad’s middle size, 29.1 by 18.9 inches, gives 550 square inches by the same formula. The area figures show room, not fit: the sources we opened do not show how a cat uses a bed of a given size.

If the bed will share a small room, the cat trees for small apartments roundup covers the same floor-space question for a tree.

Buying checklist

  • Find the weight limit for the exact size you plan to buy. Two listings give a different limit for different sizes.
  • Compare floor space with the formula above, and measure the spot where the bed will sit.
  • Read the animal named in the title against the details field, and note any mismatch.
  • For a self-warming pad, check the heat note. Cornell says a bed should be warm, not hot, and that heat can burn a cat who cannot move quickly.
  • Check the care line before you wash, because the WanpeeGoo listing gives two instructions.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Choosing by the highest figure in the bullets. The Whiskers and Friends bullet says 45 pounds for its 31-inch size, but its details field says 20 pounds.
  • Assuming the name settles the animal. The Western Home title says dog and cat, while its details field names the target species as Dog.
  • Assuming the Mora pad has sides. The listing gives the shape as rectangular and does not mention a rim.
  • Expecting a weight limit on every bed. The WanpeeGoo listing states none.

What we could not verify

  • No listing names the Maine Coon, so none of them says it suits the breed.
  • Which weight limit applies to the Whiskers and Friends 31-inch size, and which of the two Mora limits is correct.
  • Whether the 35 by 23.6 inch Mora size is on the manufacturer’s site. The page we opened does not show it.
  • How long any of these beds lasts, or how a large cat uses one. The sources we opened do not cover bed durability or cat use.
  • Whether the breed association’s weight figure applies to every cat. It describes a mature male at 20 pounds or more and says females are usually smaller.

FAQ

Is 20 pounds the right weight limit for a Maine Coon?

The Cat Fanciers’ Association says it is not unusual for a mature male Maine Coon to reach or exceed 20 pounds, and that females are usually smaller. Use that as a starting point, not a rule. Pick a bed whose stated limit for the size you buy is above your own cat’s weight.

Do the listings say a bed is made for Maine Coons?

No. None of the five listings in this post names the Maine Coon breed, so the fit judgments here rest on the stated sizes and weight limits only.

Are self-warming cat beds safe?

The Mora listing says its pad needs no plugs or cords. Cornell’s senior-cat page advises that a bed should be kept warm but not hot, because too much heat can potentially burn a cat who cannot move quickly. A vet decides what is right for your cat.

Can I wash these beds?

The ASPCA advises washing a cat’s bedding often. The listings differ on the beds themselves: the Western Home bullet says machine wash and dry at low heat, while the WanpeeGoo bullet says spot clean or wipe down and its details field says hand wash or machine wash on a gentle cycle.

Where should the bed go?

The ASPCA says each cat should have its own clean, dry place in the home to sleep and rest. Cornell advises keeping a favorite bed out of drafts for an older cat. For a sunny resting spot, see our window perch roundup, and for a raised option, see our cat tree roundup.

Bottom line

Choose by the stated weight limit for the size you will buy, not by the highest number in the bullets, and check floor space with the formula above. Until a listing says it suits a cat of your cat’s size, treat a Maine Coon fit as unconfirmed.

Sources

  • Cat Fanciers’ Association, Maine Coon Cat breed profile. https://cfa.org/breed/maine-coon-cat/ (opened 2026-10-21)
  • ASPCA, General Cat Care. https://www.aspca.org/pet-care/cat-care/general-cat-care (opened 2026-10-21)
  • Cornell Feline Health Center, Loving Care for Older Cats. https://www.vet.cornell.edu/departments-centers-and-institutes/cornell-feline-health-center/health-information/feline-health-topics/loving-care-older-cats (opened 2026-10-21)
  • Mora Pets, Self-Heating Pet Pad product page. https://www.morapets.com/products/self-heating-dog-and-cat-pads (opened 2026-10-21)

Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Similar Posts