Best Cat Trees for Small Apartments
Quick answer. Disclosure: bestcatgear.com participates in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program and may earn a commission from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Check the current price on Amazon. For a small apartment, the Yaheetech Small Cat Tree 23.5 inch is the top pick in this list. Its listed footprint is 16 x 16 inches and its height is 23.5 inches, and the listing says the condo and top perch each hold up to 11 pounds. It suits one or two small to medium cats and owners who want a compact tree that stays low. If you need more height, the PAWZ Road 30 inch tower has the smallest footprint in the list, but its base is narrow for its height, so use the anti-tip strap it includes.
How we chose
We looked at six listings whose specifications were stated on Amazon on 2026-10-17. The criteria were:
- Base footprint, since floor space is the limit in a small apartment.
- Base width compared with the listed height. A narrow base on a tall tree tips more easily, so we calculated the ratio of the narrower base side to the listed height.
- The weight each listing says the tree can take, and whether the limit is per cat, per level or not stated at all.
- Number of cats each listing names.
- Features the listing describes, such as a condo, a window perch, a hammock or a scratching post. We report what the listing says and do not confirm it.
Many listings do not state a weight limit. Where a listing does not give one, we say so rather than filling it in.
Comparison table (as stated on each listing, checked 2026-10-17)
| Product | Footprint (L x W, in) | Height (in) | Narrow base / height | Weight the listing states | Cats named on listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yaheetech Small Cat Tree 23.5 in | 16 x 16 | 23.5 | 0.68 | Condo and top perch each up to 11 lb | One to two small to medium cats |
| Purrlato Small Cat Tree for Kittens, 30 in | 15.7 x 15.7 | 30 | 0.52 | Kittens and cats up to 8 lb | Not stated |
| Purrlato 30 in Small Cat Tree, Wood | 16.5 x 13.6 | 30 | 0.45 | Up to 10 lb (per the listing) | Not stated |
| PAWZ Road 30 in Cat Tower | 15.74 x 11.81 | 30.3 | 0.39 | Not stated | Kittens and medium-size cats (bullet) |
| Feliskyn Small Cat Tree 40 in | 17.7 x 15.8 | 40 | 0.40 | Not stated | Kittens, small cats and multi-cat homes (bullet) |
| Sopapets 40 in Small Cat Tree for Apartments | 17.7 x 17.7 | 40.2 | 0.44 | Up to 22 lb per cat (bullet claim) | One to three cats |
The ratio column is our arithmetic from the listed numbers, not a listing claim. A ratio of 0.5 or more means the base is at least half as wide as the tree is tall. Only the Yaheetech and the kitten tree from Purrlato reach that line; the other four do not. The guide we read advises a base at least half the tree’s height in width for heavy cats, and an anchor for slim towers, which is why the anchor point matters for the PAWZ Road, Feliskyn and Sopapets.
Worked example: will it fit a 30-inch corner?
Suppose you have a 30 x 30 inch corner. Subtract each listed footprint from 30 inches to see what is left on each side. The Yaheetech (16 x 16 inches) leaves 14 inches each way. The PAWZ Road (15.74 x 11.81 inches) leaves 14.26 and 18.19 inches. The Sopapets (17.7 x 17.7 inches) leaves 12.3 inches each way. Remember that the cat needs space to walk up to the tree, and the listings do not state a clearance for that. Measure your floor and leave a path in front of the tree.
Products
1. Yaheetech Small Cat Tree 23.5 in (top pick)
Best for: a compact tree with a 16 x 16 inch base and a top perch of 20.5 x 15 inches. The listing says it suits one or two small to medium cats.
Skip if: you need height for a large or very active cat, because the tree is 23.5 inches tall.
Listing specs (checked 2026-10-17): dimensions 16 x 16 x 23.5 inches; weight 12.92 pounds; particle board, plush fabric and sisal rope (overview); model YT-00102242-23. The listing says the condo and the top perch each hold up to 11 pounds. It includes two sisal posts, a foam-padded perch edge and a detachable toy ball. The listing says assembly takes about 30 minutes. A retailer page for the same tree gives a condo of 12.2 x 12.2 x 10.4 inches and an item weight of 13.2 pounds, which differs from the Amazon weight. See the conflicts section.
2. PAWZ Road 30 in Cat Tower
Best for: the smallest footprint in this list (15.74 x 11.81 inches) for owners who want a 30 inch tower with two condos.
Skip if: you have a heavy or very active cat and cannot anchor the tower, because the base is narrow for its height. The listing includes a security strap that attaches to the wall.
Listing specs (checked 2026-10-17): dimensions 15.74 x 11.81 x 30.3 inches; weight 14.75 pounds; engineered wood (overview); model AM01-AMT0253BG. The listing describes two condos, a padded perch, sisal-wrapped posts, a ramp and two dangling balls. The listing does not state a weight limit.
3. Purrlato Small Cat Tree for Kittens, 30 in
Best for: kittens and cats up to 8 pounds, per the listing, with a wide 16 x 15.7 inch base.
Skip if: your cat is over 8 pounds. The listing says heavier cats will find the perches snug.
Listing specs (checked 2026-10-17): dimensions 15.7 x 15.7 x 30 inches; base 16 x 15.7 inches; weight 14.09 pounds; plush, sisal and wood (overview); model “Small Cat Tower”. The listing describes three tiers, a top perch, an enclosed condo and a full-height sisal post. The listing says assembly takes about 30 minutes with no extra tools.
4. Purrlato 30 in Small Cat Tree, Wood
Best for: a single cat that wants a padded perch at window height and a bamboo condo. The listing says the perch is 17.7 x 14.9 inches.
Skip if: your cat is over 10 pounds, per the listing.
Listing specs (checked 2026-10-17): dimensions 16.5 x 13.6 x 30 inches; weight 12.17 pounds; walnut wood and corduroy fabric (overview); bamboo condo and sisal post (bullet); model “Small Modern Cat Tree”. The listing gives a 13.4 inch clearance between the condo roof and the perch and a 7.8 inch condo door. It says assembly takes about 20 minutes with one screwdriver.
5. Feliskyn Small Cat Tree 40 in
Best for: owners who want a tall tree with two condos and several levels in a footprint of 17.7 x 15.8 inches.
Skip if: you need a weight limit, because the listing does not state one, or if you want a narrow base. The base is 15.8 inches wide for a 40 inch height.
Listing specs (checked 2026-10-17): dimensions 17.7 x 15.8 x 40 inches; weight 16.09 pounds; engineered wood, soft plush and sisal (overview); model CTA006. The listing describes a thickened reinforced base and an anti-tip design (listing claim). It says assembly takes about 15 minutes.
6. Sopapets 40 in Small Cat Tree for Apartments
Best for: a larger apartment tree for one to three cats, with a solid wood branch and sisal-wrapped posts. The listing says it supports up to 22 pounds per cat.
Skip if: your floor space is limited to about 16 inches, because the footprint is 17.7 x 17.7 inches.
Listing specs (checked 2026-10-17): dimensions 17.7 x 17.7 x 40.2 inches; weight 30.6 pounds; sisal and wood (overview); model HWPS4461-1. The listing describes plush resting areas, a hideaway condo and sisal posts. It says to fully tighten the screws during assembly and place the tree on a flat floor or near a wall.
Outside source: retailer page for the Yaheetech condo and perch
We opened a retailer page for a Yaheetech 23.5 inch compact tree (PetSmart product page, checked 2026-10-17). It gives a condo of 12.2 x 12.2 x 10.4 inches and a top perch of 20.5 x 15 inches. It does not state an overall footprint or a weight limit. We did not find a manufacturer page with the overall footprint or a weight limit.
Listing conflicts we did not resolve
- Yaheetech: the Amazon listing gives an item weight of 12.92 pounds; the retailer page gives 13.2 pounds. The Amazon listing says 16 x 16 inches overall; the retailer page does not give an overall size.
- Purrlato 30 in wood: the title gives the perch as 17.7 x 14.9 inches, and the details table gives the overall size as 16.5 x 13.6 x 30 inches. The bullet also refers to a 29 inch wide-base size that is not this product, so check which size you are buying.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying by the word “small.” The name can describe height, not footprint. Check the base.
- Assuming a tall tree is stable because the listing says anti-tip. Check whether the base is wide enough for the height, and use the strap or wall anchor if the listing includes one.
- Expecting a weight limit that the listing does not state. Three of the six listings here do not state a per-cat limit: the PAWZ Road and Feliskyn state none, and the Yaheetech states a per-level limit only.
- Buying one small tree for several cats. A single compact tree gives each cat fewer places to go. Plan for more than one perch if you have several cats.
Who should skip buying a tree from this list
Skip this list if you need a tree that stays put with a heavy or very active cat and have no wall to anchor it to, or if you need a weight limit in writing that the listing does not give. If your cat has trouble climbing, jumping or getting onto a perch, ask your vet before you buy a tree with high perches.
FAQ
What footprint is small enough for an apartment?
The smallest footprint in this list is 15.74 x 11.81 inches (PAWZ Road). Several listings are between 15.7 and 17.7 inches on each side. Subtract the footprint from your measured space and leave a clear path to the tree.
Is a taller tree better in a small room?
Not always. A tall tree needs a wide enough base to stay steady. The Yaheetech is 23.5 inches tall on a 16 inch base. The PAWZ Road is 30.3 inches tall on a base that is 11.81 inches wide at its narrow side, and its listing includes an anchor strap.
How much weight can each tree hold?
The listings differ. Yaheetech says the condo and top perch each hold up to 11 pounds. Purrlato’s kitten tree says up to 8 pounds, and its wood tree says up to 10 pounds. Sopapets says up to 22 pounds per cat. PAWZ Road and Feliskyn do not state a limit.
How many cats can one tree serve?
The Yaheetech listing names one to two small to medium cats. The Sopapets listing names one to three cats. The other listings do not state a cat count. For several cats, plan more than one perch or condo.
Does a tree need a wall anchor?
The PAWZ Road listing includes a security strap that can be attached to a wall. The Sopapets listing says to place the tree on a flat floor or near a wall. The listings do not say that every tree needs an anchor, but a tall, narrow tree is harder to keep steady without one.
Related reading (drafts in this batch, not live)
- Best cat litter boxes for small apartments (draft in this batch, not live)
- Best cat scratching posts for heavy scratchers (draft in this batch, not live)
- Best self-cleaning cat litter boxes (draft in this batch, not live)
No live posts exist on bestcatgear.com yet, so the links above point to drafts in this batch by file path and are not live.