Smartcat clumping litter

SmartCat All-Natural Clumping Litter: What the Listing Says



As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

The person typing “smartcat all natural clumping litter” wants to know what this grass-based litter is, how it compares with clay, and whether it suits their cat. The listing for the 20 lb SmartCat All Natural Clumping Cat Litter describes it as “made from all natural 100% grass seed grown in the USA,” “Unscented,” and “99% dust free.” Those are the seller’s claims. The listing does not say whether the grass is grown with fertilizers or pesticides, does not give a formal ingredient list, and does not say whether the litter works in an automatic box.

Quick answer

  • The listing says it is a clumping litter made from 100% grass seed grown in the USA, sold in a 20 lb size.
  • The listing says “Unscented” and “no added perfumes or fragrances.” Cornell says “Most cats prefer unscented, finer-textured litter,” so this matches a common preference.
  • The listing says “Pour 3 inches of cat litter into your litter box.” Cornell says cats prefer litter “about one to two inches deep.” The two figures differ, so check what suits your box.
  • The listing says “With any lightweight litter, you may notice some tracking” and recommends a litter mat. The listing does not give a tracking figure.

The listing says: SmartCat All Natural Clumping Cat Litter, 20 Pound

The listing says the following (ASIN B00P0H6836, read 2026-10-19):

  • Title: SmartCat All Natural Clumping Cat Litter, 20 Pound (320oz 1 pack). Brand: SmartCat.
  • Size options: 5-Pound, 10-Pound and 20-Pound. The 20-Pound option is the one opened.
  • Product dimensions: 7.3 x 10.5 x 17.3 inches; 20 pounds.
  • Item model number: 6506. Date first available: June 1, 2014.
  • Material: “all natural 100% grass seed grown in the USA.”
  • Directions: “Pour 3 inches of cat litter into your litter box. Replace as needed.”
  • Bullets: “Clumps faster and harder than clay litter”; “99% dust-free formula protects respiratory health”; “Lightweight at 20 lbs but lasts 2-4 months”; “NO SMELL – CAN’T TELL: SmartCat natural cat litter combats odor without relying on harsh chemicals and artificial scents”; “EASILY ADAPTABLE: … soft texture and sand-like appearance, great for the new kitten or that cat who’s particular about their paws.”

View on Amazon

What the listing states, and what it leaves out

Question The listing says
Scent “Unscented” and “no added perfumes or fragrances” (listing claim)
Material “100% grass seed grown in the USA”
Dust “99% dust free” (seller claim; no test method)
Clumping “Clumps faster and harder than clay litter” (seller claim)
Fill depth “Pour 3 inches”
Tracking “you may notice some tracking”; a litter mat is recommended
Life per bag “lasts 2-4 months” (seller claim)
Fertilizer or pesticide use not stated
Formal ingredient list not stated
Automatic litter box not stated (question prompt shown with no answer)
Kitten safety not stated (question prompt shown with no answer)

Where the sources differ

The listing’s own weight and size fields agree: the title says 20 Pound, the dimensions line says 20 pounds, and the bullets say “Lightweight at 20 lbs.” The difference is on fill depth. The listing says “Pour 3 inches of cat litter into your litter box,” while Cornell says cats prefer litter “about one to two inches deep.” The listing gives no reason for its figure, and the sources we opened do not say what depth suits a given box, so use the depth your cat accepts.

Who this suits, and who should skip it

The listing describes a lightweight, unscented, grass-based clumping litter in a single large bag. It suits a home that wants an unscented litter and is comfortable with a lightweight product that may track. Skip it if:

  • You need a litter that is clearly free of fertilizers or pesticides. The listing does not state this, and we cannot confirm it.
  • Your cat tracks litter across the floor and you have no mat. The listing recommends a mat.
  • You need a litter for an automatic box. The listing does not say it works in one.

How we chose

The keyword “smartcat all natural clumping litter” returned SmartCat All Natural Clumping Cat Litter in 5 lb, 10 lb and 20 lb sizes, plus a corn and wheat version, on Amazon on 2026-10-19. We kept to one criterion: the listing had to be SmartCat’s all natural clumping litter. The 20 lb listing (ASIN B00P0H6836) was the top match and was read on 2026-10-19. The 5 lb, 10 lb and corn and wheat listings were not opened, so this post does not describe them. We did not use prices, ratings, review counts, badges, the page’s review summary or review text.

What we could not verify

  • The listing says “99% dust free” and “NO SMELL – CAN’T TELL,” but gives no test method for either.
  • The listing does not say whether the grass is grown with fertilizers, herbicides or pesticides.
  • The listing gives no formal ingredient list beyond “100% grass seed.”
  • The listing does not say how long a bag lasts for a given number of cats.
  • The sources we opened do not cover grass litter, dust or kitten safety.

Buying checklist

  • Check the bag size. The listing offers 5-Pound, 10-Pound and 20-Pound options, and the title names the 20 lb bag.
  • Choose a fill depth. The listing says 3 inches, and Cornell says cats prefer litter “about one to two inches deep.”
  • Decide whether a mat is needed. The listing says “you may notice some tracking” and recommends a litter mat.
  • Switch gradually if your cat is used to another litter. Cornell says to add “small amounts of new litter to the old.”
  • Count your boxes. Cornell says “Keep as many litter boxes as cats in the house – plus one.”

Mistakes to avoid

  • Treating “99% dust free” as a measured figure. The listing gives no test method.
  • Assuming the litter is free of all chemicals. The listing says it avoids “harsh chemicals and artificial scents,” but does not say how the grass is grown.
  • Pouring 3 inches without checking. Cornell’s figure for cats is “about one to two inches deep.”
  • Skipping the mat. The listing says tracking may happen with any lightweight litter.
  • Assuming it works in an automatic box or is safe for kittens. The listing shows both questions with no answer.

FAQ

Is this litter scented?

The listing says “Unscented” and “no added perfumes or fragrances.” Cornell says most cats prefer unscented litter, so this matches a common preference.

Is the litter dust free?

The listing says “99% dust free,” which is the seller’s claim. It gives no test method, so we cannot say how dust free it is.

Does the listing say it tracks less?

No. The listing warns that lightweight litter may track, and it recommends a litter mat. It gives no tracking figure.

How deep should the litter be?

The listing says “Pour 3 inches of cat litter into your litter box.” Cornell says cats prefer litter “about one to two inches deep.” Choose the depth your cat accepts.

Can I use it in an automatic litter box?

The listing does not say. Its question prompt for automatic boxes is shown with no answer, so check the box maker’s guidance.

Bottom line

Choose this litter if you want an unscented, grass-based clumping litter and you are prepared for some tracking. Check the fill depth and the bag size, and do not assume the dust or odor claims are measured. The listing states the material, the scent and the 3 inch fill direction, and it leaves out pesticide and fertilizer use, automatic-box compatibility and any test method.

Related reading: if the box sits in a small home, see our litter boxes for small apartments and cat trees for small apartments. If you are weighing an automatic box, see the Litter-Robot 4 review and self-cleaning litter boxes. For the rest of the setup, see water fountains, scratching posts for heavy scratchers, automatic cat feeders and interactive toys for indoor cats.

Sources

  • Amazon listing, SmartCat All Natural Clumping Cat Litter, 20 Pound (ASIN B00P0H6836): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00P0H6836 (opened 2026-10-19). Cited for the material, scent, dust and clumping claims, fill direction and tracking text.
  • Cornell Feline Health Center, Feline behavior problems: house soiling: https://www.vet.cornell.edu/departments-centers-and-institutes/cornell-feline-health-center/health-information/feline-health-topics/feline-behavior-problems-house-soiling (opened 2026-10-19). Cited for “Most cats prefer unscented, finer-textured litter about one to two inches deep,” the unscented preference, gradual switching and the box count.
  • Cornell Feline Health Center, What to expect when adopting a feline friend (PDF): https://www.vet.cornell.edu/sites/default/files/What%20to%20expect%20when%20adopting%20a%20feline%20friends%20-%20Accessible.pdf (opened 2026-10-19). Cited for “Scent strongly influences where cats eliminate.”

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page is for information only. Check the current price on Amazon. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Similar Posts