Extra large litter box enclosure

Extra-Large Litter Box Enclosures

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Quick answer. Check the interior, not the outside. Of the enclosed boxes in our research, only the Meowant automatic box states an interior size, 14.9 x 13.7 x 19.7 inches per its bullet, and that size does not match the 57.6 liters the same bullet gives. The Bartuke XXXL enclosed box gives two different outside sizes and no interior size, but it states a litter capacity of about 50 liters. Enclosures hold odors in, and most cats prefer an uncovered box, so an enclosure is a choice, not a default. Check the current price on Amazon before you buy.

This guide covers enclosed boxes and their interior size. The high sides guide already covers the FZGhome and BlissBlaze XL boxes, so this guide does not repeat them.

What the sources say about enclosures

Cornell Feline Health Center’s house-soiling guidance says, “from your cat’s point of view, covers hold odors in.” It also says, “Most cats prefer an uncovered box that lets odors escape and allows a 360-degree view of their surroundings.” Both points matter for an enclosure.

The same guidance says, “Overweight and large cats need bigger boxes.” For a large cat, the interior is what counts, because the cat has to turn and lie down inside the box.

Terms used in this guide

  • Enclosed box. A box with a lid or cover over the litter area. The Bartuke and the Meowant are enclosed; the Meowant’s cover closes automatically, as its listing describes.
  • Outside size. The box’s dimensions as the listing states them, walls included. It is the number people usually see first, and it is not the space the cat has.
  • Interior size. The usable space inside the box. Of the three products in the table below, only the Meowant gives one, in a bullet.
  • Capacity. A litter volume in liters, as a listing states it. The Bartuke’s about 50 L and the Meowant’s 57.6 L are both capacity claims, and they are not measured the same way.
  • Low entry. The height the cat steps over to get in. The Meowant listing gives 4.8 inches.

Interior sizes, as the listings state them

Product Outside size as stated (checked 2026-10-17) Interior as stated Enclosure Capacity or weight
Bartuke XXXL, enclosed 28 x 20 x 18 inches (bullet); 27.56 x 19.69 x 15.75 inches (details table) Not stated Enclosed About 50 L of cat litter (bullet)
Meowant self-cleaning, large 20 x 20 x 21 inches 57.6 L, 14.9 x 13.7 x 19.7 inches (bullet); the dimensions multiply to about 65.9 L Auto-sealing cover 3.3 to 18 lb cat weight range (bullet)
Marchul enclosed, with drawer 16.54 x 5.31 x 20.47 inches (details table); 20 x 16.2 x 15 inches (overview); 38 x 41 x 51 cm (bullet) Not stated Enclosed, lid Listing claim: fits 12-pound cats (not verified)

The Marchul listing gives three outside sizes that do not agree, so we did not card it. Its interior is not stated in any of the three.

The two cards

1. Bartuke XXXL Stainless Steel Enclosed Cat Litter Box, 28 x 20 inches

Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-17): outside size 28 x 20 x 18 inches (bullet) and 27.56 x 19.69 x 15.75 inches (details table); weight 4.5 pounds; about 50 L of cat litter (bullet); suitable for “medium to large cats or multiple cats” (bullet); removable two-step stair (listing claim, suitable for cats of all ages). The listing does not state an interior size or the cat length the box suits.

Pros: enclosed; a stated litter capacity; a stair for entry. Cons: the two outside sizes differ; no interior size; no cat length range.

Best for: a large cat or several medium or large cats in a home that wants an enclosed box and accepts the listing’s capacity figure. Skip if: you need an interior measurement or a verified height before you buy.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. Meowant Self Cleaning Cat Litter Box, Large, with Safety Sensors

Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-17): outside size 20 x 20 x 21 inches; weight 28.66 pounds (details table); interior 57.6 L, 14.9 x 13.7 x 19.7 inches (bullet); weight capacity 3.3 to 18 lb; low entry at 4.8 inches (bullet); auto-sealing cover; tracks up to 6 cats (bullet); compatible with clumping litter with grain under 15 mm; the listing says keep litter below the warning line and remove any mat under the box.

Pros: an interior size, a cat weight range and an entry height are all stated. Cons: the stated interior size multiplies to about 65.9 liters, not the 57.6 liters the bullet gives, so the listing is inconsistent; it is an automatic box, so the self-cleaning guide covers its other features; it is heavy at 28.66 pounds; the listing says to remove the mat, which changes a typical setup.

Best for: a large cat that needs a stated interior and a low entry in an enclosed, automatic box. Skip if: you want a plain box you can lift and clean by hand, or your litter is not clumping.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

Worked example: check the listing’s own numbers

Multiply the inside dimensions in the Meowant bullet: 14.9 x 13.7 x 19.7 inches is about 4,021 cubic inches. One liter is about 61.0 cubic inches, so that is about 65.9 liters, not the 57.6 liters the same bullet states. The listing does not explain the gap, so treat the stated volume with care. For the Bartuke, the bullet’s outside size gives a floor of 560 square inches (28 x 20), and the details table’s size gives about 543 (27.56 x 19.69). The difference is about 17 square inches, or 3 percent.

Our rule of thumb for the same Meowant listing: its outside size, 20 x 20 x 21 inches, is 8,400 cubic inches, and the interior of about 4,021 cubic inches is 48 percent of that. Check the interior figure, not the outside, before you assume the cat has the space the box looks like it has. The Bartuke’s 50 L and the Meowant’s 57.6 L would differ by about 13 percent if compared directly, but the two listings measure capacity differently, so we do not treat that gap as a size difference.

When you may not need an enclosure

You may not need an enclosure if the only reason to choose one is to hide the box. Cornell says most cats prefer an uncovered box that lets odors escape and allows a 360-degree view, so the cover is a trade you make for the owner. The size and entry rules in this guide apply to open boxes as well. If the box you want is uncovered and meets the interior and entry checks in the decision rule, the cover adds nothing the source asks for.

Decision rule

Before you buy an enclosure for a large cat, check three things on the listing. First, a stated interior size that is large enough for your cat. Second, an entry height that suits every cat that will use it, because the guidance says kittens, elderly cats and cats with mobility problems need low sides. Third, a stated capacity or weight range that covers your cat. If the listing gives none of these, measure your cat and the space before you buy.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Reading “XXL” or “extra large” in a title as an interior size. Use the interior figure on the listing.
  • Using one enclosure for several cats. By Cornell’s count, three cats need four boxes.
  • Assuming a cat accepts a covered box. Most cats prefer uncovered boxes, according to the source.
  • Trusting outside sizes that disagree. The Bartuke and Marchul listings do.
  • Assuming a cat heavier than 18 pounds is inside the Meowant’s range. The listing’s cat weight range stops at 18 lb.
  • Treating the Meowant’s 57.6 L as checked. Its interior dimensions multiply to a different volume, so ask the seller or measure before you rely on the figure.

Who should skip this guide

Skip this guide if you want a small enclosure for a kitten, because our small-apartment litter box guide covers smaller boxes. Skip it also if a cat has trouble with height or entry. Ask your vet about your cat’s mobility. This guide does not give health advice.

For smaller footprints that suit tight rooms, see our litter box guide for small apartments. For automatic options with their own cleaning cycle and app, see our self-cleaning litter box guide.

FAQ

What should I check first on an enclosed litter box?

Check the interior size on the listing, not the outside size. Of the enclosed boxes in our research, only the Meowant listing states an interior size.

Does the Bartuke box state an interior size?

No. It gives two outside sizes that do not agree, and about 50 L of cat litter as a capacity. It does not give an interior size.

Is an enclosed box better for odor?

Not by the source’s account. Cornell’s guidance says covers hold odors in, and that most cats prefer uncovered boxes.

How many enclosed boxes do several cats need?

Cornell’s guidance is as many boxes as cats, plus one. Several cats need more than one box, placed in more than one location.

Why does the Marchul box not have a card?

Its listing gives three outside sizes that do not agree, and it gives no interior size. We did not card a listing whose numbers conflict.

How big a box does a large cat need?

Cornell’s guidance is that overweight and large cats need bigger boxes. Our research gives no cat length for any listing, so measure your cat and compare the length with the box’s interior, not its outside, before you buy.

If the cat also uses the space near the box for scratching, see our guide to cat scratching posts.

Sources

  • Cornell Feline Health Center, Feline Behavior Problems: House Soiling. Cited for the cover trade-off, the box count, and the note that large cats need bigger boxes.
  • Product facts: Amazon listing data for each box, checked 2026-10-17. Specs are as each seller states them. We did not measure them.

Similar Posts