Best cat litter mat

Best Cat Litter Mats

Quick answer. Disclosure: bestcatgear.com participates in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program and may earn a commission from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Check the current price on Amazon. The Amazon Basics Less-Mess mat is the all-round pick in this list. Its listing gives a PVC mat of 24 x 35 inches with coiled mesh, diamond grooves and a deep border, a waterproof backing and a one-year limited warranty, and it is long enough to reach well past a typical box. If you want a fabric mat you can put in the washing machine, look at the Drymate. If you want a rinse-clean mat with raised edges, the Garoopion silicone mat is the one with that design. Two listings (Gorilla Grip and Polarduck) disagree with themselves about size, so read the conflicts section before you buy either.

The person typing “best cat litter mat” wants a mat that catches the litter that falls off paws and keeps it off the floor, in a size that fits the space around the box. This post compares six mats by what each listing states, not by how they perform in a home. It covers mesh, honeycomb, silicone and fabric designs, shows the size sums for an example box, and lists where a listing contradicts itself, so you can choose by your floor, your box and the way you like to clean.

How we chose

We looked at six litter mat listings on Amazon on 2026-10-17. They are different kinds of mat on purpose, because a mat that suits a bathroom corner may not suit a hallway. The criteria were:

  • Surface design: coiled mesh, honeycomb holes, silicone or soft fabric.
  • Size as stated, and whether the title and the details table agree.
  • Backing: whether the listing says it is waterproof or water resistant, and whether it mentions grip.
  • How the listing says to clean it: pour back, vacuum, rinse or machine wash.
  • Material and weight from the product details table.

We have not tested any mat. No listing gives a number for how much litter a mat catches, so we do not rank them on that. Claims such as “traps litter” are shown as the listing’s claims.

Comparison table (as stated on each listing, checked 2026-10-17)

Product Surface Size as listed (in) Material as listed Weight Cleaning as listed
Amazon Basics Less-Mess (top pick) Coiled mesh with grooves 24 x 35 x 0.2 PVC 2.25 lb Not stated in the bullets
Gorilla Grip coiled mesh Coiled mesh with deep grooves Title 24 x 17; Size field 11 x 17 (conflict) Plastic 1.1 lb Pour back, vacuum, shake; mild soap and water, air dry
Drymate Original, 28 x 36 Soft non-woven polyester 28 x 36 (nine sizes listed) Polyester top, waterproof backing Not stated Vacuum or roll and pour; machine washable; no bleach
Garoopion silicone Silicone with raised edges 40 x 28 Silicone 3.04 lb (package) Dump back, vacuum, sweep or rinse
Petinstinct honeycomb Double-layer honeycomb 24 x 18 x 0.5 EVA, 0.35 in thick 7.8 oz Empty back into box; rinse or vacuum
Polarduck compact honeycomb Double-layer honeycomb Title 23.6 x 14.6; details table 29.53 x 23.62 x 0.79 (conflict) EVA in the table; PVC/PC backing in a bullet 8.8 oz Tilt to a bin, vacuum or wipe

Worked example: how far each mat reaches past the box

This is arithmetic, not a test, and the box size is an example. Say your litter box is 20 inches long and 16 inches wide, and you put it at one end of the mat so that the cat steps out onto the rest of it. The floor in front of the box is the mat length minus 20 inches:

  • Amazon Basics, 35 inches long: 35 – 20 = 15 inches.
  • Drymate 28 x 36, 36 inches long: 36 – 20 = 16 inches.
  • Garoopion, 40 inches long: 40 – 20 = 20 inches.
  • Petinstinct, 24 inches long: 24 – 20 = 4 inches.
  • Polarduck at the title size, 23.6 inches long: 23.6 – 20 = 3.6 inches.

The two honeycomb mats are barely longer than the example box, so they would suit a box tucked into a small space, or one used as a second mat in front of a larger one. The Gorilla Grip listing cannot be used for this sum: at the Size field of 11 x 17 inches it would be smaller than the box, and at the title size of 24 x 17 inches it is 4 inches longer than the box and 1 inch wider than the 16-inch example. Measure your own box and put your numbers in the same sum before you buy.

Products

1. Amazon Basics Less-Mess Litter Trapping Mat, 24 x 35 inches (top pick)

Best for: a plain, long mat with a coiled surface, for homes where the cat exits the box in a straight line and you want the extra length.

Skip if: you want to machine wash the mat. The bullets do not give cleaning steps.

Listing specs (checked 2026-10-17): item dimensions 24 x 35 x 0.2 inches; weight 2.25 pounds; material PVC; color gray; model 5206-G. The bullets describe a surface mesh coil design, litter-trapping grooves in a crisscross pattern of diamonds, a deep border along the edge, a waterproof backing and a soft step-able surface. The listing says it is backed by a one-year limited warranty.

View on Amazon

2. Gorilla Grip Cat Litter Mat, Coiled Mesh

Best for: a coiled-mesh mat whose listing gives clear cleaning steps: pour the litter back, vacuum or shake it out, and use mild soap and water for a deep clean.

Skip if: you need the size to be certain. The title says 24×17 and the Size field says 11 x 17 inch.

Listing specs (checked 2026-10-17): package dimensions 16.95 x 2.77 x 2.42 inches; weight 1.1 pounds; material listed as plastic; color grey; model 811113036622. The listing says thick mesh coils grab litter, deep grooves collect it, and a textured backing helps the mat stay in place. It calls the materials water resistant, which is a weaker word than waterproof, and says it is Climate Partner certified. It says to air dry after washing.

View on Amazon

3. Drymate Original Cat Litter Mat, 28 x 36 inches

Best for: a soft fabric mat that you can vacuum or put in the washing machine, and the one with the widest size range here: the listing shows 20×28, 28×34, 28×36, 29×36, 30×45 and 36×47 inch options, plus multi-packs.

Skip if: you want a mat with grooves. The Drymate listing’s own comparison chart shows the Original material without litter-trapping grooves, while its ridged lines have them.

Listing specs (checked 2026-10-17): size selected 28×36 inch; model CLM2836YSBP; manufacturer Drymate. The listing describes a non-woven polyester top with at least 50% recycled content, a waterproof liquid-bonded backing, a slip-resistant backing, and says it is made in the USA. It says the mat can be machine washed or scrubbed with soap, hosed off and hung to dry, and not to bleach it. The listing says the mat can be cut to fit in its comparison chart. The details table does not state a weight.

View on Amazon

4. Garoopion Silicone Cat Litter Mat, 40 x 28 inches

Best for: the biggest floor cover in this list, with raised edges to hold liquid and a surface you rinse. The listing also says it can serve as a feeding mat, a shoe tray insert or a plant saucer.

Skip if: you want a mat with a textured, grabbing surface. The listing talks about the silicone and the raised edges, not about a mesh or grooves.

Listing specs (checked 2026-10-17): size 40 x 28 inches; package dimensions 12.13 x 5.28 x 2.91 inches; weight 3.04 pounds; color grey; model ZDX04-DM08. The listing says it is made from silicone, has a leakproof design with high-raised edges, and can be cleaned by dumping the litter back into the box, vacuuming, sweeping or rinsing.

View on Amazon

5. Petinstinct Double Layer Honeycomb Litter Mat, 24 x 18 inches

Best for: a smaller honeycomb mat that traps litter in the holes and collects it on a waterproof bottom, with anti-slip dots on the underside.

Skip if: you have a large box. At 24 inches long, it barely extends beyond a 20-inch box (see the worked example).

Listing specs (checked 2026-10-17): item dimensions 24 x 18 x 0.5 inches; weight 7.8 ounces; color Black in the details table. The listing says it is made from 0.35-inch extra-thick EVA, works with clay, tofu, crystal, pine, corn, walnut, paper and other litters, and has a waterproof bottom layer with sealed edges. It says to empty the litter back into the box and rinse under running water or vacuum.

View on Amazon

6. Polarduck Compact Honeycomb Litter Mat, 23.6 x 14.6 inches

Best for: narrow spaces. The listing says the compact size suits apartments, small boxes and narrow doorways, and for kittens and small cats under 6 lb.

Skip if: you want a clean size and material story. The title size and the details table disagree, and the material is described as EVA in one place and as a PVC or PC backing in another.

Listing specs (checked 2026-10-17): weight 8.8 ounces; material type EVA; color black. The bullets say the mat folds once to reduce creases, has a double-layer honeycomb that traps loose litter, and that you tilt it to tip litter into a bin or vacuum it, and wipe it with a damp cloth for stains.

View on Amazon

Conflicts on the listings (not resolved)

  • Gorilla Grip: the title says 24×17; the Size field says 11 x 17 inch.
  • Polarduck: the title says 23.6 x 14.6 inches; the details table gives 29.53 x 23.62 x 0.79 inches, which may be a package size. The backing is called PC in one bullet and PVC in the next, and the table says EVA.
  • Petinstinct: the title says Gray; the details table says Black.
  • Drymate: the details table does not give a weight or an item size; the size is only in the selected option.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying by the width only. The mat needs to be longer than the box on the side the cat exits from, as the worked example shows.
  • Taking “water resistant” and “waterproof” as the same thing. The Gorilla Grip listing says water resistant; the Amazon Basics, Drymate and Petinstinct listings say waterproof.
  • Trusting a size in the title without checking the details table, as the Gorilla Grip and Polarduck listings show.
  • Expecting a honeycomb mat to roll up for pouring. The Petinstinct and Polarduck listings tell you to empty or tilt them, and the Petinstinct mat is 0.5 inch thick.

Who should skip buying these

Skip a litter mat if your cat is happy to use a covered or high-sided box and tracks little. Skip fabric mats if you want to rinse them outdoors; silicone and honeycomb listings are the ones that say rinse. If your cat has started to go outside the box, ask your vet; none of these listings gives that advice.

FAQ

Which of these mats can go in the washing machine?

Only the Drymate listing says machine washable. It also says not to bleach.

Which mats are silicone?

The Garoopion listing is the only one here made from silicone. The Petinstinct and Polarduck mats are listed as EVA; the Amazon Basics mat is listed as PVC.

Which mat is the longest?

The Garoopion is 40 x 28 inches. The Drymate 28 x 36 and the Amazon Basics 24 x 35 come next. The Drymate listing also offers sizes up to 36 x 47 and 30 x 45 inches.

Do any of the listings say a mat works with every litter type?

The Petinstinct listing names clay, tofu, crystal, pine, corn, walnut and paper litters. The other listings do not name litter types.

Does a litter mat stop tracking completely?

No listing says it does. They say the mat traps or contains litter, and none gives a figure.

Can I cut a litter mat to fit?

The Drymate comparison chart lists Cut to Fit for its mats. The other listings do not say.

Sources

Similar Posts