Top entry litter pan

Top-Entry Litter Pans: What to Check



As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

The person typing “top entry litter pan” wants a litter box that a cat can use without stepping over a high wall, and that keeps litter on the floor. The short answer from the listing we read: the Amazon Basics box below is a covered box with a top lid, not an open pan. The listing uses both “top entry” and “front opening” wording, and it does not give an entry height in inches. This guide sets out what the listing says, what the sources say about box size and sides, and what to check before you buy.

Quick answer

  • The listing says it is a “Large Cat Litter Box with High Sides, Top Entry,” measuring 20.5 x 14.75 x 14.38 inches and weighing 2.78 pounds.
  • The listing title says “Top Entry,” while its description says “The front opening is lowered for seamless access.” It does not say which opening the cat uses, or how high either one is.
  • Cornell says “Larger cats need bigger boxes, and kittens and elderly cats need boxes with low sides.” The listing does not state a weight limit or the interior depth.
  • The listing says “Use only as cat litter box.” It links a warranty PDF, which we did not open.

The listing says: Amazon Basics Large Cat Litter Box with High Sides, Top Entry

These are the figures and statements on the Amazon listing (ASIN B0B7M15C9F), read on 2026-10-19. They come from the listing text only. The seller’s own claims are marked as claims.

  • Brand: Amazon Basics. Manufacturer: Amazon. Item model number: 355557.
  • Product dimensions: 20.5 x 14.75 x 14.38 inches; 2.78 pounds.
  • Style: Top Entry. Color: Grey. The style field on the page also shows “Open Top” wording.
  • Material (bullet): “Crafted from BPA-free and recyclable plastic.”
  • Lid (bullet): “a filtered lid on top,” and “the removable top” allows monitoring and scooping.
  • Scoop (bullet): “a matching litter scoop that conveniently stores onboard.”
  • Directions: “Use only as cat litter box.”
  • Date first available: February 12, 2023.
  • Seller claim (bullet): “Top entry design cuts litter tracking dramatically.” The listing does not give a tracking measurement.
  • Seller claim (description): “The front opening is lowered for seamless access, making it suitable even for older or senior cats.”

View on Amazon

What the listing says, side by side with the sources

The table uses only the columns below. “Not stated” means the listing or the source we opened does not give that point.

Point The listing says The sources we opened say
Box size 20.5 x 14.75 x 14.38 inches Cornell: “Larger cats need bigger boxes” (no inch figure given)
Entry Title and style say “Top Entry”; description says “front opening is lowered” Cornell: kittens and elderly cats need “boxes with low sides”; no entry height given
Side height “High Sides” in title; no inch figure Not stated
Lid “filtered lid on top”; “removable top” Not stated
Weight limit Not stated (item weight 2.78 pounds) Cornell: “Overweight and large cats need bigger boxes.”
Number of boxes Not stated Cornell: “Keep as many litter boxes as cats in the house – plus one.”
Warranty Warranty PDF linked; terms not in the page text Not stated

Where the listing disagrees with itself

The title and the style field say “Top Entry.” The description says “The front opening is lowered for seamless access.” The listing does not explain which opening a cat uses, so a buyer cannot tell from the listing whether the cat steps over a front wall or enters from above. Ask the seller before you order.

Who this suits, and who should skip it

The listing describes a covered, high-sided box for indoor cats “of all ages and sizes.” It suits a home that wants a lidded box and has room for a 20.5-inch footprint. Skip it if:

  • You need an open pan. The listing describes a lid on top, and the style field also shows “Open Top” wording that the description does not explain.
  • You need an entry height. The listing gives none, so you cannot compare it with a low-sided pan.
  • You need a weight limit for a large cat. The listing gives none. Cornell says large cats need bigger boxes, so measure your cat’s length before you decide.

How we chose

The criteria were simple. The listing had to match the “top entry litter pan” keyword, which means a top-entry litter box, and it had to be opened and read on 2026-10-19. The search returned several top-entry and low-entry boxes, including IRIS USA, Tehoao, Uiifan and stainless steel options. We opened one listing, the Amazon Basics Large Cat Litter Box with High Sides, Top Entry (ASIN B0B7M15C9F), because its title uses the top-entry wording and its text gives dimensions. We did not open the other boxes from the search, so this post does not describe them. We did not use prices, ratings, review counts, badges or review text.

What we could not verify

  • The listing does not state the entry height, the interior depth or the side height in inches.
  • The listing does not state a weight limit for cats, and it does not say how many cats the box suits.
  • The listing says the lid is filtered but does not describe the filter, its life or how to replace it.
  • The listing’s warranty PDF was linked but not opened, so this post does not describe the warranty.
  • The listing says “Top entry design cuts litter tracking dramatically.” It gives no tracking measurement, and the sources we opened do not cover tracking in any box.
  • The sources we opened do not compare covered boxes with open pans, so this post makes no claim about which style a cat prefers.

Buying and setup checklist

  • Measure the floor space against 20.5 x 14.75 x 14.38 inches, the listing’s figures.
  • Measure your cat. Cornell says “Overweight and large cats need bigger boxes,” so check the size of your cat against the box before you buy.
  • Check which opening your cat uses. Ask the seller which opening the description means if the wording is unclear to you.
  • Count your boxes. Cornell says to “Keep as many litter boxes as cats in the house – plus one.”
  • Plan for kittens and older cats. Cornell says “kittens and elderly cats need boxes with low sides,” and the listing gives no side height, so check the sides before you buy for a kitten or an older cat.
  • Scoop daily. Cornell says “If you use clumping litter, remove feces and clumps daily and add clean litter as needed.”

Mistakes to avoid

  • Treating “top entry” as a height figure. The listing gives no entry height.
  • Expecting an open pan. The listing describes a lid on top, and the style field also names “Open Top.”
  • Choosing a high-sided box for a kitten or an older cat without checking the sides. Cornell says those cats need low sides.
  • Using one box for several cats. Cornell says to keep one box per cat, plus one.
  • Assuming the scoop is the right size. The listing says the scoop stores on the box but does not give its size.
  • Placing the boxes in one room. Cornell says to “Place multiple boxes in different areas of the house.”

FAQ

Is this an open pan?

No. The listing describes a box with a filtered lid on top and a removable top. The style field also shows “Open Top” wording, which the description does not explain.

What size is it?

The listing says 20.5 x 14.75 x 14.38 inches, weighing 2.78 pounds. It does not give the interior size.

Does it have a low entry?

The description says “The front opening is lowered for seamless access.” The listing does not give a height, so we cannot say how low the opening is.

Is it suitable for a large cat?

The listing says “cats of all ages and sizes” in its description but gives no weight limit. Cornell says “Overweight and large cats need bigger boxes,” so measure your cat before you decide.

How many boxes do I need?

Cornell says to keep “as many litter boxes as cats in the house – plus one.” The listing does not say how many cats the box suits.

Bottom line

Treat this as a covered, high-sided box, not an open pan. The listing gives the size and the scoop, but it does not give an entry height, side height or weight limit. For a kitten, an older cat or a large cat, check the sides and the cat’s size before you buy, because those are the points the listing leaves out.

Related guides on this site

For the next question after choosing a box, see our guides to litter boxes for small apartments, self-cleaning cat litter boxes and the Litter-Robot 4 review. For the rest of the room, see cat trees for small apartments, scratching posts, automatic cat feeders, cat water fountains and cat window perches.

Sources

  • Amazon listing, Amazon Basics Large Cat Litter Box with High Sides, Top Entry (ASIN B0B7M15C9F): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B7M15C9F (opened 2026-10-19). Cited for the dimensions, style, lid, scoop, directions and seller claims.
  • Cornell Feline Health Center, Feline Behavior Problems: House Soiling: https://www.vet.cornell.edu/departments-centers-and-institutes/cornell-feline-health-center/health-information/feline-health-topics/feline-behavior-problems-house-soiling (opened 2026-10-19). Cited for the box size, low-side, box count and daily scooping statements.
  • Cornell Feline Health Center, Loving Care for Older Cats: https://www.vet.cornell.edu/node/3975 (opened 2026-10-19). Cited for the statement about older cats and very low sides.

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page is for information only. Check the current price on Amazon. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Similar Posts