Petsafe scoopfree litter box
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A PetSafe ScoopFree litter box is a self-cleaning automatic box that uses a rake and disposable crystal litter trays to keep waste out of sight between tray changes. The line includes covered and uncovered models, a classic box, a box with a health counter and an app-connected smart version. This guide compares five PetSafe ScoopFree litter boxes from the product data for each listing, shows what each one states about size, trays and features, and points out the details each listing leaves out so you can check them before buying.
Quick answer
- For a box with a hood and a visit counter, the Crystal Pro Self-Cleaning model is the covered option in this group.
- For a covered box with a visit counter that fits a tighter footprint, the Crystal Pro Legacy Front-Entry model is the closest match.
- For an open top that makes tray checks quick, the Crystal Pro Legacy Uncovered model and the Crystal Classic model are the uncovered choices.
- For app alerts and visit tracking over WiFi, the Crystal Smart model is the only app-connected box in this group.
What the ScoopFree system does
The box works on a simple cycle. After each visit, a rake sweeps the waste into a sealed compartment, and the crystal litter in the tray absorbs urine and dries solid waste. The listings say a single-cat home can go up to about a month without scooping. Multi-cat homes need to change the tray more often, so the listing wording is a guide and not a promise for every household.
The tray is the part you buy again and again. Each listing says the box ships with one disposable crystal litter tray, and the disposable trays have a plastic liner and a lid for easy disposal. Several listings name the tray as official PetSafe ScoopFree product, so check the compatibility line before you buy third-party trays. Reusable tray options appear in some listings and in the bundle items in the pack, but those are separate purchases.
Size, tray and weight at a glance
The five boxes are large. The Crystal Pro Self-Cleaning and Legacy Front-Entry models are the covered boxes in the group, and their covers change the height and the hood depth you need. The Classic and Legacy Uncovered models have open tops. Measure your floor and the path your cat uses before you decide, since a covered box needs room for the hood to open and close.
| Model | Top style | Stated size | Stated weight | Key feature from the listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crystal Pro Self-Cleaning, black | Covered with privacy hood | 28.2 x 20.4 x 16 in | 18 lb | Health counter, LED tray light |
| Crystal Classic, gray | Uncovered | 27.6 x 19.1 x 6.2 in | 12.25 lb | Disposable tray with plastic lining |
| Crystal Pro Legacy, uncovered | Open top | Not stated | Not stated | Motion-sensor health counter |
| Crystal Pro Legacy, front-entry | Covered | Not stated | Not stated | Motion-sensor health counter, covered for privacy |
| Crystal Smart, uncovered | Uncovered | Not stated | Not stated | WiFi app with activity log and alerts |
“Not stated” means the listing’s bullets and specifications do not give that number. The Legacy and Smart models describe a compact footprint and a roomy interior, but they do not give a usable dimension in the specification fields, so measure before you order.
How to choose: covered, uncovered or app-connected
A covered box keeps the litter area out of view, which suits a room where guests sit or where the box sits in a shared space. The Crystal Pro Self-Cleaning and Legacy Front-Entry models are the covered options. The listings say the covers help contain litter tracking and odor, and the Legacy Front-Entry listing says its roomy interior suits large cats.
An uncovered box gives your cat an open view and lets you check the tray at a glance. The Classic, Legacy Uncovered and Smart models are uncovered. The Legacy listing describes a low profile that fits small spaces where a covered box will not. Uncovered boxes are a common choice for cats that dislike enclosed spaces, but a cat’s habits decide the choice, so watch how your cat uses the box after setup.
An app-connected box gives you visit data from your phone. The Crystal Smart listing says it links to the My PetSafe app over 2.4 GHz WiFi and shows a live activity log and real-time visit tracking. Check that your home network is 2.4 GHz, since the listing names that band. The Crystal Pro models use a built-in health counter and display rather than an app, so the counter is the only tracking they list.
Five PetSafe ScoopFree litter boxes compared
Each block below gives the listing facts for one model and a link to the Amazon page. The order runs from the covered models to the uncovered ones.
1. PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Self-Cleaning Litter Box, Black
This covered box has a privacy hood, and the listing describes it as a private bathroom for the cat that also cuts down on tracking and odor. The listing gives 28.2 by 20.4 by 16 inches and 18 pounds. It includes one patented crystal litter tray and a pre-portioned bag of crystal litter. The health counter displays how often the cat visits, and an LED light signals when to replace the tray. The bullets say the box is easy to disassemble, with a removable rake and a smooth interior that make cleaning simple. The listing says it works only with official PetSafe ScoopFree disposable crystal litter trays.
2. PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic Self-Cleaning Litter Box, Gray
This classic box is uncovered and has an open top. The listing gives 27.6 by 19.1 by 6.2 inches and a weight of 12.25 pounds, which is the lightest model with a stated weight in this group. It includes one disposable ScoopFree crystal litter tray. The bullets say the crystals are 99 percent dust free and low-tracking, and the listing says the trays have a plastic lining that helps protect against leaks. The details table lists a manufacturer-recommended age of one month and up. It suits a home that wants a simple uncovered box with a light frame.
3. PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy Front-Entry Litter Box
This covered model has a front entry and a roomy interior that the listing says suits large cats. It is part of the Crystal Pro Legacy line, with a motion-sensor health counter that logs how often the cat visits. The listing says it ships with one plastic-lined disposable tray that has a lid for no-touch disposal. The bullets say the rake sweeps waste into a sealed compartment after each visit and that the box can go up to 30 days between cleanings for a single cat. The compact footprint suits small spaces, but the listing does not give a usable dimension in its specification fields.
4. PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy Uncovered Litter Box
This is the open-top version of the Legacy line. The listing describes an uncovered design that gives large cats easy access and lets you check the tray at a glance. The bullets say the box is low-profile, which the listing ties to small spaces. It has the same motion-sensor health counter and the same removable rake as the front-entry model, and it ships with one plastic-lined disposable tray. The listing says the crystals are 99 percent dust free, which the bullets tie to less tracking on the floor. It fits a buyer who wants the Legacy features without a hood.
5. PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart Self-Cleaning Litter Box, Uncovered
This is the app-connected model in the group. The listing says it links to the My PetSafe app over 2.4 GHz WiFi and shows a live activity log, real-time visit tracking and custom alerts. The alerts flag when it is time to swap or reorder trays. The bullets describe the same hands-free rake cycle as the other models and a non-clumping crystal litter that the listing says absorbs urine and dehydrates solid waste. It ships with one disposable crystal litter tray, and the listing says it also works with PetSafe ScoopFree reusable trays. The listing does not state the size in a usable form.
Review: Crystal Pro Self-Cleaning Litter Box in depth
The Crystal Pro Self-Cleaning model is the most fully described covered box in this group. Its listing gives the largest stated size, 28.2 by 20.4 by 16 inches, and a weight of 18 pounds. The weight is the detail that matters most when you plan where to put the box, since you will lift it to clean the base and to change the tray. Place it on a level floor, and leave room for the privacy hood to open for cleaning.
The box’s main features are the hood, the health counter and the light. The hood is the reason to choose this model over an uncovered one. The listing says it gives the cat a private bathroom and reduces litter tracking and odor, which fits a room with a shared hallway or a family space. The health counter displays how often the cat visits the box. The listing presents that count as a way to spot possible health changes, but it does not say what level of change matters. If you see a sudden shift in visit frequency, bring it to your vet rather than relying on the box.
The light on the box signals when to replace the tray. The listing describes it as a way to know when to swap the tray precisely, so you do not have to check the litter level by eye. The disassembly is another feature the listing highlights. The rake comes out and the interior is smooth, which the bullets say makes routine maintenance simpler. The included tray and litter bag give you a start, but the listing says the box works only with the official disposable crystal litter trays, so plan your tray purchases from the start.
Two close alternatives sit in the same group. The Legacy Front-Entry model is also covered and adds a motion-sensor health counter, and its listing says its roomy interior suits large cats. The Crystal Smart model is the app-connected choice with WiFi alerts, which suits a buyer who wants data on a phone rather than a display on the box. Compare the hood, the counter and the connection type before you pick.
Who is this box for? A household with one or two cats that wants a covered, self-cleaning box with a visit counter and a clear tray signal. It is less suited to a home with very little floor space, since the listed size is large, and it is not the choice for a buyer who wants the lightest option in the group. The Classic model is the lighter alternative at 12.25 pounds.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying third-party trays without checking. The Crystal Pro Self-Cleaning listing says it works only with official PetSafe trays, and other listings warn about compatibility with the new smart chip version of a tray.
- Skipping the measurement. A covered box needs room for the hood, and the Legacy and Smart listings do not give a usable dimension.
- Assuming the box is self-cleaning forever. The listings describe a month of hands-free cleaning for a single cat, and multi-cat homes need more frequent tray changes.
- Ignoring the power and network needs. The Smart model uses WiFi on the 2.4 GHz band, so confirm your network before you buy.
- Reading the health counter as a diagnosis. The listings describe it as a visit tracker, so use it as data to share with your vet.
FAQ
Which PetSafe ScoopFree box is best for a single cat?
The listings describe a month of hands-free cleaning for a single cat, so any of the five boxes can fit a single-cat home. Choose a covered model if privacy matters most, and an uncovered model if you want to see the tray. The Smart model adds app alerts if you want to track visits from your phone.
Do these boxes need the official trays?
The Crystal Pro Self-Cleaning listing says it works only with official PetSafe ScoopFree disposable crystal litter trays. Other listings in this group describe the disposable tray and mention reusable tray options. Read the compatibility line for the model you choose before you buy trays.
How often do I need to replace the tray?
The listings describe up to about 30 days for a single cat, and the Crystal Pro Self-Cleaning and Smart models use a light or app alert to tell you when to swap. Multi-cat homes will change trays more often. The listings do not give a schedule for every household, so watch the tray and the alert.
Is an uncovered box good for a cat that dislikes enclosed spaces?
Many cats prefer an open top, and the Legacy Uncovered and Classic listings describe easy, hood-free access. The listings do not say which cats prefer which style, so watch how your cat uses the box after setup, and keep the box in a spot where the cat feels safe.
Can I use these boxes with a second cat?
The listings describe the boxes as suited to a single cat for the hands-free period. For more than one cat, the listings say the owner should change the tray more often. The Legacy and Crystal Pro listings do not state a cat limit, so plan for regular tray checks in a multi-cat home.
Bottom line
Choose the PetSafe ScoopFree box that matches your priorities. Pick the Crystal Pro Self-Cleaning or Legacy Front-Entry model for a covered box with a visit counter, the Classic or Legacy Uncovered model for an open top, and the Crystal Smart model when you want WiFi alerts. Before you buy, measure your floor, confirm the tray type your box needs, and check the network if you plan to use the app.