Pet safe scoopfree self cleaning litter box

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A pet safe scoopfree self cleaning litter box is an automatic box made by PetSafe that rakes waste into a sealed compartment after each visit, so you do not scoop by hand. The ScoopFree range includes several models in this roundup: Crystal Classic, Crystal Pro, Crystal Pro Legacy, Crystal Smart, SmartSpin and a clumping version. Each model is sold with a different set of features, including an open top or a covered front entry, an app connection and the litter type it works with. This article sets out what each listing says, so you can match a model to your cat and your routine.

Quick answer

  • For the simplest model, the Crystal Classic listing describes a box that needs no scooping for weeks and includes one disposable tray.
  • For an app connection and visit tracking, the Crystal Smart listings and the SmartSpin listing describe app features.
  • For a covered box with privacy, the Crystal Pro Legacy front-entry and the Crystal Smart front-entry listings have a covered front.
  • For clumping litter, the ScoopFree Clumping listing is the only model in this set built for clumping litter.

How a ScoopFree box works

A ScoopFree box uses a rake that moves through the litter after each visit and sweeps waste into a sealed drawer or compartment. The crystal models use a disposable tray that holds crystal litter. The listings describe the crystal as silica gel that absorbs urine and dries solid waste, and the box keeps the waste sealed until you empty the compartment. The clumping model rakes clumping litter and locks clumps away. Because the crystal litter is sold separately in some listings, check whether the model includes a tray and how much litter comes with it.

The listings give a schedule for emptying the waste compartment and for changing the tray. The most common claim is about 30 days of hands-free cleaning for one cat. A multi-cat household will need to empty the drawer more often, and the listings do not state a multi-cat schedule in every case.

Crystal models: tray-based routine

The crystal models share the same basic design. They use a disposable crystal tray, the rake sweeps the waste, and the listings describe about 30 days of hands-free use. The differences are the cover, the app and the health or visit features. Read each listing’s bullets for the feature that matters to you.

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic Self-Cleaning Litter Box, Gray (B0CFRY7VYN)

This is the basic crystal model in grey. The listing says it lets the box do the work, with no scooping, cleaning or refilling for weeks. It includes one disposable ScoopFree crystal tray, and the bullets say the crystal litter removes smell by absorbing urine and dehydrating solid waste. The crystals are described as 99 percent dust free and low tracking, so they do not stick to the cat’s paws. The material is listed as plastic. The Classic is the most direct model for a home that wants automatic cleaning without extra features.

View on Amazon

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Self-Cleaning Litter Box, Black (B0DZJQG2ZQ)

The Crystal Pro is a crystal model with a privacy hood. The bullets say it self-cleans for up to 30 days with no scooping, cleaning or refilling. They describe the patented crystal litter trays as providing 5X better odor control than traditional clay litter. The privacy hood is described as giving the cat a private bathroom while reducing litter tracking and odor. The colour is black, and the material is plastic. For a cat that likes cover, this is the listing that states the hood in its bullets.

View on Amazon

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy Self-Cleaning Litter Box, Uncovered (B07WZPJ2LW)

This is the uncovered Crystal Pro Legacy. The bullets describe an open-top automatic box that gives large cats easy, hood-free access, and they say you can check the tray at a glance. The health counter feature logs how often the cat visits, which the listing describes as an early flag for changes in routine. The box is described as hands-free for 30 days, with a removable rake that sweeps waste into a sealed compartment. The box ships with one plastic-lined disposable tray. Choose this model for a cat that dislikes a hood, and for a home that wants to watch the visit count.

View on Amazon

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy Self-Cleaning Litter Box, Front-Entry (B07X3XFB6K)

This is the covered version of the Pro Legacy, with a front entry. The bullets describe the covered design as keeping the cat’s business out of view while helping contain tracking and odor. The health counter logs visits in the same way as the uncovered version, and the box is described as hands-free for 30 days. It ships with one plastic-lined disposable tray. The front entry is the feature to check for fit: measure the floor space, since the listing describes a covered box with an entry rather than an open top.

View on Amazon

Smart models with app connection

The Smart models and the SmartSpin add an app. The listings describe a connection to a phone, a visit log and real-time visit tracking. These features are useful for a household that wants to see when the cat uses the box, but they depend on a Wi-Fi connection and the app.

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box, Uncovered (B087C6XZCL)

This is the uncovered Smart model. The bullets say it links to the My PetSafe app over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, so you can see a live activity log and visit tracking on your phone. The rake sweeps waste into a sealed compartment after each visit, and the listing says the box is hands-free for 30 days. The bullets describe the crystal litter as lightweight, non-clumping and 5X better than traditional clumping clay at odor control. The uncovered design gives an open entry, so the cat can see into the box before it enters.

View on Amazon

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box, Front-Entry (B087C7K4CP)

This is the covered front-entry Smart model. It has the same app connection, visit log and hands-free 30-day claim as the uncovered Smart. The listing describes the same crystal litter and the sealed waste compartment. The front-entry design is the covered version, so it gives more privacy than the open model. Check the app requirements before you buy, since the listing describes a Wi-Fi connection at 2.4 GHz.

View on Amazon

PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin Self-Cleaning Litter Box, White (B0D4GHS7V6)

This is the newer SmartSpin model in white. The bullets say it offers up to two weeks of hands-free cleaning, with a spin technology that sifts clumps into a sealed drawer. The listing says the box gives up to four times better odor control than traditional litter boxes, through a sealed waste drawer and a deodorizer. The PetSafe Pet Companion app is described as giving real-time health data, including weight updates and litter box usage. The two-week figure is shorter than the 30 days in the crystal models, so plan on emptying the drawer more often. Check the app and the litter type before buying.

View on Amazon

Other ScoopFree models

Mintakawa Automatic Cat Litter Box Self Cleaning, App Control and Weight Monitoring (B0FH21L9CF)

This automatic box is made by Mintakawa, not PetSafe, and the listing is for an app-controlled self-cleaning box. The bullets say it is suitable for small to medium cats, including kittens, and that its operating sound is kept below 35 decibels. The listing describes app connectivity over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, with real-time monitoring and detailed data. The item is listed as polypropylene plastic and weighs about 9.72 kilograms. Because this is a different brand, the ScoopFree compatibility notes do not apply, and you should check the listing’s own specifications before buying. It is included here because the pack for this keyword carries it.

View on Amazon

PetSafe ScoopFree Clumping Self-Cleaning Litter Box (B0CBSJ3KLW)

This is the clumping model. The bullets say it rakes through clumping litter, locks away clumps and odors, and works with clumping litter and most other litter types without a tray. The listing says the waste bin locks away unpleasant odors, which is the rake and bin design. This is the model to choose if you want an automatic box with clumping litter instead of crystals. It needs no disposable tray, which is a difference from the crystal models.

View on Amazon

Comparison table

Listing Model Cover Litter type App or health feature
B0CFRY7VYN Crystal Classic, gray Not stated Crystal tray None stated
B0DZJQG2ZQ Crystal Pro, black Privacy hood Crystal tray None stated
B07WZPJ2LW Crystal Pro Legacy, uncovered Open top Crystal tray Health counter
B07X3XFB6K Crystal Pro Legacy, front-entry Covered front entry Crystal tray Health counter
B087C6XZCL Crystal Smart, uncovered Open Crystal tray My PetSafe app, visit log
B087C7K4CP Crystal Smart, front-entry Covered front entry Crystal tray My PetSafe app, visit log
B0D4GHS7V6 SmartSpin, white Not stated Not stated Pet Companion app, weight and usage
B0CBSJ3KLW Clumping model Not stated Clumping litter None stated
B0FH21L9CF Mintakawa automatic box Not stated Not stated App control, weight monitoring

Weight limits and warranty terms are not stated in most of these listings, so the table shows only the features each listing names.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Choosing a crystal model for clumping litter. The clumping model is the only one built for clumping litter.
  • Buying an app model without a Wi-Fi plan. The Smart and SmartSpin listings describe connections that need a network.
  • Assuming the 30-day figure applies to several cats. The listings give it for one cat.
  • Skipping the tray check. The crystal models ship with one disposable tray, and you need more trays as they are used up.
  • Mixing brands. The Mintakawa box is a different maker, and PetSafe tray compatibility does not apply to it.

Review: the Crystal Smart front-entry for a covered box with app tracking

If you want a covered box with app tracking, the Crystal Smart front-entry is the most complete PetSafe crystal model in this roundup. The listing describes an app link over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, a live activity log and real-time visit tracking. The covered front entry gives privacy, and the sealed waste compartment keeps smell inside. The listing says the box is hands-free for 30 days and that the crystal litter is 5X better at odor control than clumping clay. For a home where you want to see visits and keep the box out of view, this is the model the listing is built around.

The trade-off is cost in setup and in dependence on the app and Wi-Fi. The listing does not state a multi-cat schedule, and it does not give the box’s weight. If you do not want an app, the Crystal Pro Legacy front-entry is the covered model without the app, and it offers a health counter instead. If you want the simplest model, the Crystal Classic is the direct choice.

FAQ

What is a pet safe scoopfree self cleaning litter box?

It is an automatic PetSafe litter box that rakes waste into a sealed compartment after each visit, so you do not scoop by hand. The crystal models use a disposable tray, and the clumping model rakes clumping litter.

How long does one crystal tray last?

The listings describe about 30 days of hands-free cleaning for one cat. A multi-cat household will need trays and emptying more often.

Which model has an app?

The Crystal Smart listings and the SmartSpin listing describe app features. The Mintakawa listing also describes app control, but it is a different brand.

Which model works with clumping litter?

The ScoopFree Clumping listing is built for clumping litter and works with most other litter types without a tray.

Which model is covered?

The Crystal Pro black listing describes a privacy hood. The Crystal Pro Legacy and Crystal Smart front-entry listings describe a covered front entry.

Are these boxes safe for kittens?

The Mintakawa listing describes suitability for kittens and small to medium cats. The PetSafe listings describe their models for cats in general, so ask your vet before using any automatic box with a kitten.

Does the SmartSpin need a different litter?

The SmartSpin listing does not state the litter type in the bullets, so check the product page before you choose litter for it.

Bottom line

For the simplest automatic box, choose the Crystal Classic. For a covered box, choose a front-entry model. For app tracking and visit data, choose the Smart or SmartSpin. For clumping litter, choose the clumping model. Check compatibility and the tray schedule before you buy, and confirm the litter type for any model you are unsure about.

Similar Posts