Automatic litter tray
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
An automatic litter tray is a self-cleaning box that rakes or sifts waste into a sealed bin after each visit, so you do not scoop every day. Most models in this group use a sensor to pause the cleaning cycle when a cat is inside, and most have a removable waste bin and an app for scheduling. This guide compares eight automatic litter trays and self-cleaning boxes using the cat weight range, tray type, waste-bin capacity, sensors and app features stated in each Amazon listing. Where a listing does not give a detail, the guide says the listing does not state it.
Quick answer
- Check the cat weight range first. The MeowWhimsy and Cumrige listings give a range of 2.2 to 33 pounds, and the PetSafe listings name a single-cat household.
- Choose a covered or open-top design by what your cat prefers. The listings describe both, and the open-top models give easier access for a large cat.
- Look for a sealed waste bin with a stated capacity. The Paruuntys and Cumrige listings give a 15-liter waste bin, and the Cumrige listing says the bin lasts up to 15 days.
- Decide whether you need an app. Several models in this group connect to a Wi-Fi app, and the listings say they can send alerts when the tray or bin needs attention.
How an automatic litter tray works
After a cat leaves, the rake or sifting system moves waste into a sealed compartment and levels the remaining litter. The PetSafe listings describe a removable rake that sweeps waste into a sealed compartment, and the other listings describe a sealed waste bin or drawer. Waste is kept out of the box, and the waste bin is emptied on a schedule. The listings describe this as hands-free, so the daily scoop is removed from the routine.
Most of these models ask you to use specific litter or trays. The PetSafe models use disposable crystal litter trays, and the MeowWhimsy and Cumrige listings describe compatibility with clumping and silica litter. Check the litter type named in each listing before you buy, because the wrong litter can affect how the system cleans.
Size, weight range and entry
The listings give different sizes. The PetSafe ScoopFree models are described as suited to a single-cat household, while the Cumrige and MeowWhimsy listings give a 95-liter capacity for multiple cats. Measure the floor space and the clearance above the box, because some models are tall and the waste bin or drawer needs its own space.
Entry matters for older or small cats. The PioneerWorks listing says the entry height has three levels that can be set in the app, which it describes as suitable for kittens, seniors and short-legged breeds. The PetSafe Plus listing describes an open top that gives easy access for large cats. Cumrige and MeowWhimsy give a cat weight range of 2.2 to 33 pounds, and the listing does not state a separate range for the other models.
Sensors and safety
Most listings in this group describe a sensor that pauses the cleaning cycle while a cat is in the box. The PioneerWorks listing describes a multi-detector system with infrared sensors, weight sensors and anti-pinch protection. The Paruuntys listing describes seven sensors, four weight-activated and three infrared. The MeowWhimsy listing describes infrared and weight sensors. These are the listings’ own descriptions, and the listings do not give independent test results.
A sensor is not a substitute for watching a new cat use the box. If a cat seems reluctant or has trouble climbing in, ask your vet before you change the setup. A waste bin should also be emptied on schedule, because a full bin can slow or stop the cleaning cycle.
Roundup: eight automatic litter trays
1. PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box, Uncovered
This uncovered PetSafe model connects to the My PetSafe app over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and shows a visit log. The listing describes a removable rake that sweeps waste into a sealed compartment and says the box is hands-free for up to 30 days for a single-cat household. The listing says the non-clumping crystal litter provides 5X superior odor control and that the crystals are 99 percent dust free. It ships with one disposable crystal litter tray and also works with PetSafe reusable trays.
2. PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box, Front-Entry
This front-entry PetSafe model uses the same app, rake and crystal tray system as the uncovered version. The listing says it is hands-free for up to 30 days for a single-cat household and that the app sends custom alerts when a tray needs swapping. It also lists 5X superior odor control and 99 percent dust-free crystals. The front entry is the main difference between this listing and the uncovered version, so choose it if your cat prefers that layout.
3. PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box, Covered
This covered PetSafe model has a built-in visit counter and an LED tray indicator that flags when the tray needs swapping. The listing says the covered design keeps the cat’s box out of view and helps contain tracking and odor, and it describes a roomy interior for large cats. It is listed for up to three cats in the title, and it ships with one disposable crystal litter tray. The visit counter is a log of how often the cat uses the box, not a health test.
4. PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box, Uncovered
This open-top PetSafe model is described for large cats, with easy access and a low profile that fits small spaces. The listing says the LED indicator light signals when the tray needs changing, and it names 99 percent dust-free crystals with low tracking. The rake and interior are described as easy to clean. It ships with one disposable crystal litter tray and works with the reusable trays, which the listing presents as an option.
5. MeowWhimsy Extra Large Automatic Cat Litter Box Self Cleaning Robot
The MeowWhimsy robot is listed with 95 liters of space and a cat weight range of 2.2 to 33 pounds. The listing describes infrared and weight sensors that stop the cleaning when a cat enters, and it says the cleaning cycle is whisper quiet. The listing says the box is compatible with most clumping and silica litters, including mineral and bentonite types. It is controlled through the Tuya app over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, which the listing says tracks usage times, sets cleaning schedules and sends alerts.
6. PioneerWorks Self-Cleaning Automatic Cat Litter Box, Open-Top
The PioneerWorks box is an open-top automatic litter tray with an extra-large entry. The listing says the entry height has three levels set in the app, which it describes as suitable for kittens, seniors and short-legged breeds. Its safety system includes infrared and weight detectors and anti-pinch protection, and the listing says cleaning runs only after the cat exits. The waste bin is sealed and auto-separates waste into pull-seal bags, with a washable liner included.
7. Cumrige Automatic Litter Box with Safety Sensor and App Control
The Cumrige box is listed with a 95-liter drum and a cat weight range of 2.2 to 33 pounds. Its waste bin is 15 liters, and the listing says that bin lasts up to 15 days. The sensors pause the cleaning cycle when a cat is detected, and the listing describes the box as whisper quiet. The Tuya app lets you start cleaning, schedule cycles and view health tracking, and the listing says the detachable waste trays make cleanup simpler.
8. Paruuntys Automatic Litter Box with Open-Top Design and App Control
The Paruuntys box is open-top, with a 16.5 by 16.5 inch entrance that the listing describes as roomy. It has seven sensors, four weight-activated and three infrared, and it pauses instantly when a cat is detected. The 15-liter sealed waste compartment is described as odor-locking, and the listing says the removable waste tray and reinforced edges reduce spills. A washable liner is included, and the app can schedule cleaning and track litter use.
Review: PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus, Uncovered
The PetSafe Plus open-top model is the strongest fit in this group for a single-cat household that wants low daily work and a box that is easy to see into. The listing says the box is hands-free for up to 30 days for one cat, which means the waste bin and tray are handled on a long schedule. The removable rake is described as making cleanup simple, and the listing says the interior is smooth and easy to wipe.
The open-top design is the reason to choose this model over the covered version. The listing says it gives large cats easy access and lets you check the tray at a glance, and it describes a low profile that fits smaller spaces. The LED indicator light signals when the tray needs changing, which removes guesswork from the schedule. The listing also says the crystal litter is 99 percent dust free and keeps stray pieces mostly in the box.
The main limit is the household size. The listing describes the hands-free period for a single-cat household, so a home with several cats will need more frequent tray changes, and the listing does not give a multi-cat figure. The box ships with one disposable crystal tray, so plan the ongoing cost of trays and check whether you want the reusable tray option. The listing does not state a cat weight range for this model, so check it before buying for a large cat.
Two close alternatives from the same brand are the uncovered front-entry model, which has the same app and rake system, and the covered Pro model, which adds a visit counter and privacy. The MeowWhimsy and Cumrige models suit a multi-cat home, since their listings give 95-liter capacity and a 2.2 to 33 pound range.
Comparison table
| Model | Style | Listed capacity or range | Listed app or sensor |
|---|---|---|---|
| PetSafe Smart, uncovered | Uncovered, crystal tray | Single-cat household, 30 days | Wi-Fi app, visit log |
| PetSafe Smart, front-entry | Front-entry, crystal tray | Single-cat household, 30 days | Wi-Fi app, custom alerts |
| PetSafe Pro, covered | Covered, crystal tray | Up to three cats (title) | Visit counter, LED indicator |
| PetSafe Plus, uncovered | Open-top, crystal tray | Single-cat household, 30 days | LED indicator, rake |
| MeowWhimsy robot | Robot, self-cleaning | 95 L; 2.2 to 33 lb | Tuya app, infrared and weight sensors |
| PioneerWorks | Open-top | Three entry heights | App, multi-detector safety |
| Cumrige | Drum, detachable trays | 95 L drum; 2.2 to 33 lb; 15 L bin | Tuya app, sensors |
| Paruuntys open-top | Open-top | 16.5 x 16.5 in entrance; 15 L bin | App, seven sensors |
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying a single-cat model for several cats. The PetSafe listings describe a single-cat household, so use a larger model for more cats.
- Using the wrong litter. Check the litter type named in each listing before you fill the tray.
- Letting the waste bin fill up. A full bin can stop the cycle, so empty it on schedule.
- Skipping the setup check for a new cat. Watch the first few visits and ask your vet if the cat avoids the box.
- Assuming the sensor replaces supervision. The sensors are described as safety features, but the listings do not state a test result.
FAQ
What is an automatic litter tray?
It is a self-cleaning litter box that rakes or sifts waste into a sealed bin after each visit. The listings describe hands-free cleaning and app control in most models.
Does an automatic litter tray work with clumping litter?
Some listings say yes. The MeowWhimsy and Cumrige listings describe compatibility with clumping and silica litters, while the PetSafe models use disposable crystal litter trays. Check the litter line in the listing before you buy.
How long does the waste bin last?
The Cumrige listing says its 15-liter bin lasts up to 15 days. For other models, the listing gives a day count or none, so check each listing for the figure.
Can I use an automatic litter tray with more than one cat?
The PetSafe listings describe a single-cat household. The Cumrige and MeowWhimsy listings give a 95-liter capacity and a cat weight range of 2.2 to 33 pounds, which suits a multi-cat home.
Do these boxes have safety sensors?
Most listings describe sensors that pause the cycle while a cat is inside. The sensor types vary, so read the safety line in each listing.
Is an app required?
No. The PetSafe, MeowWhimsy, PioneerWorks, Cumrige and Paruuntys listings describe app control, and the listings do not say the box cannot be used without it.
Bottom line
For a single cat that needs low daily work, choose a PetSafe model with a stated 30-day hands-free period, and pick the open-top or covered design your cat prefers. For a multi-cat home, look at the 95-liter models with a stated 2.2 to 33 pound range and a 15-liter bin. Check the litter type and the waste bin schedule before you buy, and ask your vet if your cat avoids the box.