PetMasion Extra Large Cat Carrier: Size, Mesh and Fit
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
The petmasion extra large cat carrier for medium and large cats is a soft-sided, collapsible carrier in prussian blue. The listing gives its size as 24 by 16.5 by 16.5 inches and its weight as 8.2 pounds, and it describes mesh walls on five sides, several entrances, dual handles and belt clips. This post covers what the listing states about the interior size, the mesh, the entrances, the handles and clips, the bottom liner, the frame and the weight, and where the listing’s figures leave gaps. The person typing petmasion extra large cat carrier for usually wants a roomy carrier for a larger cat or a pair of cats, and the answer below is written for that reader.
Quick answer
- The listing gives the carrier as 24 by 16.5 by 16.5 inches, about 6,534 cubic inches of outside space and about 3.78 cubic feet.
- The listing gives the carrier’s weight as 8.2 pounds, which is about 3.72 kilograms, and it lists the body as metal and nylon.
- The listing describes five mesh walls, several entrances and a waterproof bottom liner, and it describes the frame as metal.
- Skip it if the cat is small and you want a light carrier for a tight space, or if you need the maximum weight line from the listing checked from outside it, since this review does not repeat it.
What the listing says the carrier does
The first bullet gives the size and the intended cats. The listing says the carrier suits medium to large cats or several cats, and it gives the outside size as 24 by 16.5 by 16.5 inches. The same bullet gives a maximum weight capacity. That is a load claim, and this review does not repeat it, because no outside source was opened to back a weight limit.
The second bullet describes the walls. The listing says the carrier has five breathable mesh walls for airflow and a cushion for comfort. Five mesh walls leave one side without mesh, which the listing does not explain. The listing does not say whether the bottom is mesh, so the count covers the walls only.
The third bullet describes the entrances. The listing says multiple entrances, when opened, let the cat move about. It does not say how many entrances there are or where they sit, and it does not describe the zipper design beyond the closure type in the specification table.
The fourth bullet describes the handles and the clips. The listing says the carrier has dual handles, so one person can carry it, and four belt clips for fastening it in a car. The listing describes the clips as a secure fit in the car. The clips are a car-use feature, and this review does not describe how they fit a particular seat belt.
The fifth bullet describes the bottom liner, which the listing calls waterproof and says prevents messes during travel. The liner is a single claim in the bullet, and the listing does not give its thickness or its material.
The sixth bullet describes the frame and the body. The listing says the carrier has a sturdy metal frame with a soft-sided body. The specification table gives the material as metal and nylon. Those are construction statements, and the listing gives no test figure for the frame.
Size, volume and weight: the arithmetic
The listing gives one size and one weight. The table sets out each figure and the calculation that follows from it.
| Figure | Value in the listing | Calculation | Result |
|---|---|---|---|
| Floor area | 24 x 16.5 inches | 24 x 16.5 | 396 square inches |
| Outside volume | 24 x 16.5 x 16.5 inches | 24 x 16.5 x 16.5 | 6,534 cubic inches |
| Outside volume in cubic feet | 6,534 cubic inches | 6,534 / 1,728 | 3.78 cubic feet |
| Weight in ounces | 8.2 pounds | 8.2 x 16 | 131.2 ounces |
| Weight in kilograms | 8.2 pounds | 8.2 / 2.2046 | 3.72 kilograms |
The floor area of 396 square inches is the footprint of the carrier on a seat or the floor. The outside volume of about 6,534 cubic inches is the space the carrier takes up in a car or a room. Like any soft carrier, the usable interior is smaller than the outside figure once the walls, the frame and the liner are counted, and the listing does not give an interior size.
The weight is 8.2 pounds, or about 3.72 kilograms. That is the carrier’s own weight, not the weight of a cat, and the listing gives no weight range for any cat. A buyer who carries the carrier with a cat inside should add the cat’s weight to the carrier’s weight.
The listing gives one weight and one size. It does not give a folded size, even though the specification table says the carrier is collapsible and foldable, so storage space is not stated.
Mesh, entrances and ventilation
The mesh walls are the main ventilation feature in the listing. Mesh on five sides gives a view and airflow in most directions. The listing does not give the mesh size or the share of each wall that is mesh, so the openness is not measured.
The entrances are described as multiple. The listing says they let a cat move about when opened, which suggests a carrier with more than one door. The number and position of the doors are not given, so check them on the carrier you receive. A door placed where a cat can reach it easily matters more than a door on the far side of the carrier.
The zippers are the closure type in the specification table. The listing does not give the number of zippers, the locking method or the way the zippers run along the entrances. Test each zipper before a trip, and make sure the closure holds when the carrier is lifted.
Handles, clips and car use
The dual handles let one person carry the carrier, according to the listing. The handles are the main way to lift the carrier, and the listing does not give the handle length or the strength of the stitching. The shoulder strap is listed as adjustable in the specification table, and it gives another carrying option.
The four belt clips are the car-use feature. The listing says they fasten the carrier in a car. The listing does not show how the clips attach to a seat belt, a headrest or a bench, and it does not give the width of the belt that fits.
Test the clips before a trip. Fasten the carrier in the seat where it will ride, and check that it does not move. The listing does not describe the clip’s grip on a leather or cloth seat.
The bottom liner and the frame
The bottom liner is described as waterproof and as a protection against messes during travel. The liner is the only detail in the bullets, and the listing does not give its material or its thickness. A liner can be useful for a trip, but the listing does not say how easy it is to remove and clean.
The metal frame is described as sturdy. The listing does not give the metal gauge, the number of frame pieces, or the joint design. The frame is part of the carrier’s shape, and it is the reason the carrier stands up when it is set down.
Collapsible and foldable storage
The specification table says the carrier is collapsible and foldable. The listing does not give a folded size, so the storage space needed is not stated. A buyer who has little closet space should measure the carrier’s folded dimensions before purchase, since the listing gives no figure for them.
Who this suits, and who should skip it
The carrier suits a medium or large cat, or a pair of cats that fit within the 24 by 16.5 by 16.5 inch outside size, on a car trip or a long move. It suits an owner who wants mesh on five sides, several entrances, dual handles and belt clips in one carrier.
Skip it if the cat is small and a lighter carrier would suit a tight space. Skip it if the car seat cannot hold a 24 inch length and a 16.5 inch width. Skip it if you need the maximum weight line from the listing confirmed from outside the listing, since this review does not supply that figure.
1. PetMasion Extra Large Cat Carrier for 2 Cats, Collapsible Soft Sided Pet XL Crate for Large Medium (PetMasion Extra Large Soft-Sided Cat Carrier, Prussian Blue, 24 x 16.5 x 16.5 inches)
Pros
- The listing gives an outside size of 24 by 16.5 by 16.5 inches and mesh walls on five sides
- The listing gives dual handles, four belt clips and a metal frame in a collapsible design
Cons
- The listing gives no interior size and no folded size
- The listing gives a maximum weight line that this review does not repeat, and the clips are not shown in use
Best for: A medium or large cat, or a pair of cats, on a car trip or a long move
Skip if: The cat is small and a lighter carrier suits the space, or the seat cannot hold a 24 inch length
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
Buying checklist
- Measure the car seat or floor against the 24 by 16.5 by 16.5 inch outside size.
- Check the 8.2 pound weight, and add the cat’s weight when you plan to carry the carrier.
- Test each zipper and each entrance before the trip.
- Fasten the belt clips in the seat where the carrier will ride, and check the hold.
- Check where each entrance sits, so the cat can use the door you want.
- Check the bottom liner for the trip, and decide whether it suits the seat you will use.
- Check the folded size against your storage space, since the listing gives none.
Mistakes to avoid
- Measuring the outside size and assuming it is the interior space. The listing gives only the outside size.
- Forgetting the cat’s weight when the carrier is lifted with a cat inside. The 8.2 pound figure is the carrier alone.
- Relying on the clips without testing them in the seat. The listing does not show how they attach.
- Assuming the bottom liner is removable. The listing does not say.
- Buying for a small cat who needs a lighter carrier. The listing describes a larger carrier.
How we chose
The keyword for this post is petmasion extra large cat carrier for. The research file for it was built on 2026-10-23 and holds six products: the PetMasion carrier, plus five other listings from the same best-seller category, Pet Supplies > Cats > Carriers & Strollers, with dog products removed. The five others are titles only in the file, and this review uses the listing details for the PetMasion carrier alone.
We read the PetMasion listing’s feature bullets and its specification table on 2026-10-23. The criteria were the outside size, the mesh and entrances, the handles and clips, the bottom liner, the frame and the weight. The keyword names an extra large carrier from this brand, and the listing is that product, so it was chosen.
The other five were a front-door folding carrier, a single-cat carrier with lockable zippers and buckles, a large carrier for two cats from another brand, a soft-sided large carrier for two cats with a litter box, and a single-cat carrier from another brand. The two-cat carriers are close in purpose, but they are separate products, so this post reads the PetMasion listing alone.
What we could not verify
- The interior size, which the listing does not give. The outside size is the only size figure.
- The maximum weight line in the first bullet. This review does not repeat it, because it is a load claim and no outside source was opened to back it.
- The number and position of the entrances.
- The mesh size and the share of each wall that is mesh.
- How the belt clips attach to a seat belt or a seat, and the width of belt they fit.
- The thickness and material of the bottom liner.
- The metal gauge and the joint design of the frame.
- The folded size, which the listing does not give.
FAQ
How big is the carrier?
The listing gives 24 by 16.5 by 16.5 inches. That is the outside size, and the listing does not give the interior size.
Is it for two cats?
The title says it is for two cats, and the first bullet says it suits medium to large cats or multiple cats. The listing does not give a weight range for the cats.
How heavy is it?
The listing gives 8.2 pounds, which is about 3.72 kilograms. That is the carrier alone.
Does it fasten in a car?
The listing says it has four belt clips for fastening in a car. It does not show how the clips attach to a seat belt, so test them in the seat where the carrier will ride.
Does the bottom wash or dry?
The listing calls the bottom liner waterproof and says it prevents messes during travel. It does not give a cleaning method for the liner.
Can it fold?
The specification table says it is collapsible and foldable. The listing does not give the folded size.
Bottom line
Choose this carrier if you need a roomy soft carrier for a medium or large cat, or a pair of cats that fit the 24 by 16.5 by 16.5 inch outside size, with mesh on five sides and belt clips for car trips. Skip it if the cat is small, if the seat cannot hold the size, or if you need the maximum weight line confirmed from outside the listing.
Other carrier options
If you need a carrier for a plane trip, the cat carrier for a plane guide compares the travel rules. For a car trip, the cat carrier for a car guide covers the seat fit, and the cat car seat guide covers another car option.
For two cats, the carrier for two cats guide compares the two-cat sizes. A carrier with wheels may suit a long walk, so the carrier with wheels guide covers that option, and a carrier backpack guide covers a hands-free choice. A cat that is nervous in a carrier may benefit from the anxious cat carrier guide, and the large cat cage guide covers a fixed enclosure.
Sources
- Amazon product listing, PetMasion Extra Large Cat Carrier for 2 Cats (ASIN B0D8GLZP3K), read 2026-10-23: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0D8GLZP3K






