Dog proof cat box
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A dog proof cat box is a litter box enclosure with a door or arch that a cat can pass through and a dog cannot, so the litter stays out of the dog’s reach. Most of the enclosures in our product data pack are wooden or metal cabinets with a low side entrance, and several add a scratching panel, a drawer or a cat bed. This guide compares the dog proof enclosures in the pack, explains how the entrance size and the door design decide what a dog can reach, and points out where the listings are unclear. Every fact comes from the listing data, and where a listing does not state a value we say so.
Quick answer
- Measure the entrance first. The Fecuria listing gives an entrance of 8.6 inches wide and 9.8 inches high, and the WooPetty listing describes a curved arch. Check that your cat can pass easily and that the opening is smaller than a dog.
- Choose by the number of cats. The Fmlud listing is built for two standard boxes, and the RLRO and Fecuria listings describe room for a large cat.
- Look for a removable or drawer tray. The Gardner Pet and RLRO listings describe trays or drawers that make cleaning easier.
- Do not assume every enclosure is dog proof. The Gardner Pet hidden plant box does not say dog proof in its title or bullets, so check the listing before you rely on it.
What makes an enclosure dog proof
A dog proof enclosure works on size and shape. The opening must let a cat in and keep a dog out, and the enclosure must be sturdy enough that a dog cannot push or chew through it. The listings describe three ways of meeting that goal. The first is a low side entrance with a defined width and height, such as the 8.6 by 9.8 inch opening on the Fecuria cabinet. The second is a curved arch, which the WooPetty listing says cats naturally prefer. The third is a closed structure with doors that stay shut, which the Fmlud and Fecuria listings describe.
The entrance is the part to check. A low entrance helps a senior or small cat, but it is also the place where a determined dog could try to enter, so the listing’s size is the main guide. The Gesomepurrz listing states that a cat can slip through a small pet door that a dog cannot, but it does not give a measurement for the opening, so ask the seller before you buy if the door size matters to your dog.
A dog proof enclosure also needs to be cleaned. A cabinet with a removable top, a pull-out drawer or a lid lets you scoop without moving the whole box. The listings describe each of these, and we repeat their descriptions below.
Materials, size and weight
The enclosures in the pack use wood, metal, fabric and plastic panels. The Fecuria listing describes heavy-duty MDF with a farmhouse finish. The RLRO listing describes a wooden cabinet with sisal scratching doors. The Fmlud listing describes a metal double enclosure, and the Gesomepurrz listing describes an oxford fabric and plastic board enclosure. The Gardner Pet listing describes a polypropylene body with a faux plant top.
Size varies a lot. The smallest enclosure in the pack is the Gesomepurrz listing at 26 by 17 by 17 inches. The largest is the Fmlud double enclosure at 31.5 by 19.7 by 34.4 inches. Weight is also different. The Gesomepurrz listing weighs about 3.1 pounds, while the Fmlud and RLRO listings weigh more than 40 pounds. A heavy enclosure stays in place, but it is harder to move when you clean the floor underneath.
Comparison of the enclosures in the pack
The table uses only the values stated on each listing. A cell reads “not stated” where the listing gives no value, and “listing conflict” where the title and the detail table disagree.
| Product | Material | Stated size | Entrance | Dog proof stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fecuria Cat Litter Box Enclosure, Black | Wooden (MDF) | 28.5 x 18 x 19 in | 8.6 x 9.8 in opening; 2.5 in low entry | Yes |
| RLRO Cat Litter Box Enclosure with Sisal Doors | Wood | 31.5 x 15.8 x 32.7 in | Two side openings, 11.8 x 7.8 in | Yes |
| Gesomepurrz Dog Proof Litter Box Enclosure | Oxford fabric and PP boards | 26 x 17 x 17 in | Cat door (size not stated) | Yes |
| Gardner Pet Hidden Cat Litter Box with Faux Plant | Polypropylene | 19.7 x 19.3 in (title); 19 x 19 x 20 in (detail) | 6.9 in bottom entry | Not stated |
| Fmlud Double Cat Litter Box Enclosure | Metal (detail table) | 31.5 x 19.7 x 34.4 in | Not stated | Yes |
| WooPetty Cat Litter Box Enclosure with Cat Bed | Not stated | 30 x 17.7 x 17.7 in | Curved arch | Yes |
Roundup: dog proof enclosures worth a look
Each block covers one enclosure from the pack. The facts come from its own listing.
1. Fecuria Dog Proof Cat Litter Box Enclosure, Black
This wooden farmhouse-style cabinet has a double door and a low entrance of 8.6 by 9.8 inches, according to the listing. The listing says the entrance is 2.5 inches high at the low edge, which makes it easy for senior cats and short-legged cats to step in. The interior measures 28 by 17.5 by 18 inches, and the overall size is 28.5 by 18 by 18.8 inches. The listing says the stain-resistant surface wipes clean and that the cabinet can hold a cat bed or toys. Assembly uses the included tools and picture instructions. The detail table gives a weight of 12 pounds.
2. RLRO Cat Litter Box Enclosure with Sisal Scratching Doors and Drawer
The RLRO cabinet is a wooden enclosure with two sisal scratching panels on the doors. The listing says the doors snap on, so no hinges need to be fitted, and that two side openings of 11.8 by 7.8 inches let a cat move between compartments. The interior is listed as 30 by 15 by 22 inches. The listing says the wide top and drawers can hold litter scoops, bags and grooming tools. It describes the cabinet as a side table or entryway cabinet as well. The detail table gives 31.5 by 15.8 by 32.7 inches and a weight of 41.8 pounds, so plan the space before you order.
3. Gesomepurrz Dog Proof Cat Litter Box Enclosure, 26 by 17 inches
This is the lightest enclosure in the pack at about 3.1 pounds. It is made of oxford fabric and plastic boards, with an open top and high sides. The listing says it has a cat door design and a hook for a scoop, and that no tools are needed to assemble it. It describes the material as water and scratch resistant. The listing says the enclosure keeps litter and urine splash inside, and it claims that a small pet door lets a cat through but not a dog. The door size is not given, so confirm it with the seller if your dog is large. The listing carries a 30-day warranty in its detail table.
4. Gardner Pet Hidden Cat Litter Box with Faux Plant and Scoop
This hidden litter box is a polypropylene planter-style box with a faux plant on top. The listing gives 19.7 by 19.3 inches in the title and 19 by 19 by 20 inches in the detail table, so the sizes are close but not identical. The bottom entry is 6.9 inches high, and the listing says that height suits cats of all ages. It includes an activated carbon filter pad and a drawer-style tray, and the listing says the base interlocks with the rim to resist leaks. The listing does not describe the box as dog proof, so do not rely on it to keep a dog out.
5. Fmlud Double Cat Litter Box Enclosure for Two Cats
This is the largest enclosure in the pack and is built for two standard boxes or a dual setup. The listing says it is dog proof and fully enclosed, with wide double doors for cleaning. It says the enclosure reduces odor and litter scatter and gives cats privacy. The detail table gives 31.5 by 19.7 by 34.4 inches and a weight of 41 pounds, and it lists the material as metal. The bullets describe a scratching post, so check the product page for its exact design. This is the choice for a multi-cat home with a large space.
6. WooPetty Cat Litter Box Enclosure with Cat Bed and Arch Entrance
The WooPetty enclosure combines a hidden litter box, a cat bed and a scratch board in one piece. The listing gives 30 by 17.7 by 17.7 inches for the large size. It describes a curved arch doorway that the listing says cats naturally prefer, and an enclosed structure that the listing says blocks dogs and curious pets. The interior liner is reversible, with flannel on one side and a waterproof surface on the other. The front has a litter-trapping mat. The frame folds flat for storage and the listing says the bench supports up to 200 pounds.
Review: the Fecuria enclosure in depth
The Fecuria enclosure is the clearest example in the pack of a dog proof design with a stated entrance size. It is a wooden cabinet with a double door, and the listing gives a low entrance of 8.6 by 9.8 inches. The interior is 28 by 17.5 by 18 inches, which the listing says lets a cat turn, dig and move without cramping. The listing describes heavy-duty MDF and a stain-resistant finish that wipes clean.
In daily use, the entrance and the door are the two points to check. The entrance is low for senior and short-legged cats, which the listing says makes stepping in and out easier. The double door is meant to keep the litter and the smell inside. The listing describes the cabinet as dog proof, and names the low entrance and double doors as the features that help. Measure your dog’s head and shoulders against the opening before you buy, because the listing does not say which dog sizes the entrance keeps out.
The cabinet is also a piece of furniture. The listing says it can hold a cat bed or toys and that it can serve as storage. That is useful in a small room, but it means the cabinet takes up floor space and needs room to open the doors. Place it where you can reach the box for daily scooping, and keep it off carpet if you use a loose floor mat.
The assembly uses the included tools and picture instructions. Allow time for it, and check the parts against the list before you start. The listing does not state a warranty, so keep the receipt.
Any cat that avoids the box or changes its urination habits needs a veterinarian. An enclosure can make a box more private, but it does not diagnose or treat a problem, and a cabinet can hide a change that you would otherwise see.
Mistakes to avoid with a dog proof cat box
- Assuming any enclosure is dog proof. The Gardner Pet listing does not describe a dog proof design.
- Skipping the entrance size. The Gesomepurrz listing does not give its door size, so confirm the opening before you buy.
- Buying a cabinet without space to open the doors. The RLRO listing is 31.5 inches wide and 32.7 inches high, and the Fmlud listing is larger.
- Ignoring the weight. The Fmlud and RLRO listings weigh more than 40 pounds, which makes moving the enclosure to clean the floor harder.
- Using a closed enclosure for a cat that avoids enclosed spaces. A cat that dislikes a closed box may use it less, so watch its use after the switch.
FAQ
How do I know an enclosure is dog proof?
Check the listing for a dog proof statement, the entrance size and the door design. The Fecuria, RLRO, Gesomepurrz, Fmlud and WooPetty listings each say dog proof. The Gardner Pet listing does not.
What entrance size keeps a dog out?
The listings do not give a dog size chart. The Fecuria entrance is 8.6 by 9.8 inches, and the Gesomepurrz listing says a cat can use a small pet door a dog cannot, without giving a size. Measure your dog and compare before you buy.
Can a cat use a dog proof box that has a low entrance?
Yes. The Fecuria listing describes a 2.5 inch low entry for senior and short-legged cats, and the Gardner Pet listing describes a 6.9 inch bottom entry. Choose the lowest entry your cat can use comfortably.
Can I put a cat bed in a dog proof enclosure?
The Fecuria listing says the cabinet can double as a napping spot with a cat bed or toys. The WooPetty listing includes a cat bed as part of the enclosure.
How do I clean a litter box inside an enclosure?
Use the door, the drawer or the removable top, depending on the design. The RLRO listing describes drawers, and the Gardner Pet listing describes a drawer-style tray. The Fecuria listing says the surface wipes clean.
Should I see a veterinarian about my cat’s litter box use?
Yes, if your cat strains, has blood in its urine, uses the box much more or less often, or avoids it. An enclosure does not replace a veterinary exam.
Bottom line
For a dog proof design with a stated entrance, choose the Fecuria or RLRO cabinet, and measure the space and the entrance first. For a small space or a soft enclosure with a cat bed, the WooPetty or Gesomepurrz listing fits. For two cats, the Fmlud double enclosure is the choice in the pack. Confirm the door size and the weight before you order, and speak to your veterinarian about any change in your cat’s litter box habits.