Prutapet Large Cat Carrier 24×16.5×16.5 portable

Prutapet Large Cat Carrier 24×16.5×16.5 portable

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

The Prutapet large cat carrier 24×16.5×16.5 portable listing covers one product: a collapsible soft-sided carrier with a 24 by 16.5 by 16.5 inch interior, sold under the Prutapet brand. Everything here comes from the Amazon listing, which was read once on 2026-10-28, and from three non-Amazon sources at the end. Price, ratings and customer reviews are left out on purpose.

Quick answer

  • The listing gives an interior of 24 by 16.5 by 16.5 inches and says it fits cats over 20 lbs, multi-cat groups and small and medium dogs.
  • It has seatbelt loops and buckles for car use, and the listing says it can be placed horizontally or vertically.
  • The listing describes locking zippers, an internal safety buckle for the pet’s collar or harness, and a removable, washable fleece mat.
  • The listing gives the product weight as 7.1 pounds and the material as plastic and steel. It does not give a weight limit for the pet, and it does not say the seatbelt buckle is crash tested.

1. Prutapet Large Cat Carrier 24"x16.5"x16.5" Portable Dog Crate for Small Medium Dogs Collapsible (Prutapet Large Cat Carrier 24×16.5×16.5 Portable Collapsible Traveling Pet Crate)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Product Dimensions: 24 x 16.5 x 16.5 inches; 7.1 pounds
  • Material: Plastic, Steel
  • Item model number: ZF02GYXL

Pros

  • 24 by 16.5 by 16.5 inch interior, per the listing
  • Seatbelt loops and buckles for car use, per the listing
  • Removable washable fleece mat, per the listing

Cons

  • The listing gives no maximum pet weight
  • The listing does not say the seatbelt buckle is crash test certified

Best for: Owner who wants a large soft carrier with car buckles and a top opening
Skip if: You need a rigid carrier, a certified airline size or a divider for two cats

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

What the listing describes

The title and bullets describe a carrier built for space. The listing says the interior lets a pet stand, turn and lie down. That is a space claim, and it is different from a fit guarantee for a particular cat weight.

The access design is the part buyers will check first. The listing describes an extra-large top opening, plus four access panels. The product description says the mesh doors are semi-covered, which the listing says gives a cat some cover while keeping airflow. The bottom has a removable waterproof mat, and the separate fleece mat is described as removable and washable.

The car features are listed as seatbelt loops, buckles and shoulder straps that fix the carrier on a car seat. The safety strap is described as an attachment to the pet’s harness so the pet is less likely to escape the carrier.

Specs from the listing: Product Dimensions 24 x 16.5 x 16.5 inches, 7.1 pounds; Material Plastic, Steel; Item model number ZF02GYXL; Manufacturer Prutapet.

Where the listing stops

The listing does not give a maximum weight in pounds for the pet. The bullet that says it fits “cats over 20 lbs” is a guide, but the page does not state a limit, so the owner should weigh the cat and compare it with the interior length and height.

The listing does not say how many cats it holds at once. It names multi-cat use, and the interior size is listed, but there is no separate capacity figure and no divider.

The frame is described only through the word “steel” in the material field. The listing does not say whether the carrier stays upright when empty, and the folded size is not given on the page even though the bullets call the carrier collapsible.

Sizing against the cat

Measure the cat from nose to tail base before comparing the interior. Then check the height, because a carrier that is long but low may still be tight for a cat that stands up. The 24-inch length is the main dimension the listing emphasizes, so it is the number to compare with a tape measure.

A large interior also has a practical cost. A carrier of this size is bulky to lift with a cat inside. The listing describes a handle and shoulder strap for carrying, but the carrier itself weighs 7.1 pounds before the pet and any bedding are added.

Car travel

The ASPCA travel safety guidance says a pet’s carrier should be well ventilated and large enough for the pet to stand, sit, lie down and turn around in. The same page says the crate should be secured so it will not slide or shift during an abrupt stop. The carrier’s size and the way it is fastened are the two checks that matter most for a car ride.

The ASPCA guidance on carriers also advises placing the carrier where the cat already spends time before a trip, and it says that once a cat is comfortable in a closed carrier, the owner can practice moving the carrier around the home.

The 2025 FelineVMA position statement on cats in motor vehicles advises owners to pick a carrier with the right size and material for the cat, to get the cat used to the carrier, and to let the cat hide, for example by covering the carrier with a towel or blanket. The same statement advises securing the carrier on the vehicle floor behind either front seat, and it says seatbelts should only be used with carriers that are crash test certified.

For this product, the listing’s seatbelt loops match the advice to secure the carrier. The listing does not say the carrier is crash test certified, so an owner who plans to use the seatbelt buckle should check the manufacturer’s information before the trip. The internal safety buckle attaches to the pet’s collar or harness, which is a separate function from securing the carrier to the vehicle.

Multiple cats and vet visits

The listing names multi-cat use, which suits a household that moves two cats at once. Two cats in one carrier share one space, and the listing does not describe a divider. Owners who want separate compartments should look at a different design.

For a vet visit, the top opening and access panels are the features to test at home. A carrier that opens from more than one side gives the owner options when a cat is reluctant to go in through the top.

Set-up and care

The listing describes the removable fleece mat as washable. Remove it before washing the carrier so the carrier and mat dry separately. The listing does not give washing instructions for the frame or the zippers, so follow the care label on the product.

Keep the zippers closed when the carrier is out of use, and use the internal safety buckle when the cat is inside a moving car.

How we chose

This guide started from a carrier listing in the Carriers category, and the product was checked against the ASIN on its page before the facts were recorded. The guide uses only the title, bullets, description and specification fields. It does not use the price, the rating or the review text, and it does not present a test result. Each car-travel point comes from one of the three non-Amazon sources listed below.

What we could not verify

  • The maximum pet weight. The listing gives no number, so this guide does not state one.
  • Crash test status of the seatbelt buckle. The listing does not state a rating.
  • The folded size and how the frame behaves when empty.
  • Whether the carrier works for two specific cats of a given size. Owners should measure both cats before buying.

Related guides

If the trip is by car, the best cat carrier for car guide covers the same question from a wider set of products. For a visit to the clinic, see the best cat carrier for vet visits guide. Owners with two cats may also want the best cat carrier for 2 cats guide before choosing.

FAQ

Does the Prutapet large cat carrier fit a 20 lb cat?

The listing says the carrier fits cats over 20 lbs. It gives no maximum pet weight, so measure the cat and compare the length and height with the 24 by 16.5 by 16.5 inch interior.

Can two cats ride in this carrier?

The listing names multi-cat use and gives the interior size. It does not describe a divider, so two cats share one compartment.

Does the carrier have a seatbelt loop?

Yes, the listing describes seatbelt loops and buckles for car seats. The listing does not say the buckle is crash test certified.

Is the mat washable?

The listing says the fleece mat is removable and washable. Follow the care label for the frame and zippers.

Quick checks before buying

  • Measure the cat nose to tail and height, then compare with the 24 by 16.5 by 16.5 inch interior.
  • Decide whether the seatbelt buckle is needed for the trips planned, and check the seat setup in the vehicle.
  • Plan a practice run with the carrier closed so the cat learns the carrier before a longer ride.

Sources

Similar Posts