PetSafe Come With Me Kitty Harness and Bungee Leash: Fit, Leash and Training
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
The petsafe kitty harness and bungee leash listing is for one product: the PetSafe Come With Me Kitty Harness and Bungee Cat Leash in lilac, size medium. The listing describes a harness with two adjustment points and a stretchy bungee leash, and it says the harness is meant to let an owner walk a cat outside the home. This guide covers what the listing says about fit, the harness design and the leash. It also notes the details the listing does not give. The facts come from the listing and from the sources at the end.
Quick answer
- The listing describes a two-point adjustable fit and says the harness applies pressure to the shoulders rather than the neck or throat.
- The title gives a fit for small and average cats with a 10.5 to 14 inch girth.
- The bungee leash is described as giving as the cat reaches the end of the leash, to avoid sharp pulling.
- The listing says to measure the cat before buying and gives no training schedule.
1. PetSafe Come With Me Kitty Harness and Bungee Cat Leash, Lilac, Medium (PetSafe Come With Me Kitty Harness and Bungee Cat Leash, Lilac, Medium)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Product dimensions: 1.25 x 5.25 x 8 inches; 0.8 ounces
- Size: Medium
- Closure type: Buckle
Pros
- Two adjustment points for fit, per the listing
- Bungee leash described as giving as the cat moves, per the listing
Cons
- The title names a leash but the spec fields list one harness
- The listing gives no leash length or weight range
Best for: Owner who wants a two-point cat harness with a bungee leash for a cat in the 10.5 to 14 inch girth range
Skip if: Your cat falls outside the listed girth range, or you need a stated breakaway feature
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
What the listing describes
The listing is built around the harness and the leash. The title names the Come With Me Kitty Harness and a bungee cat leash, and the color and size are lilac and medium. The product details give a closure of buckle and a product weight of 0.8 ounces. The spec fields list the item as one harness, which does not match the title’s mention of a leash, so the buyer should check what the package contains.
The listing describes the harness as a way to walk a cat safely outside the home, and it describes the walks as a shared activity. It also says the harness has two adjustment points so the owner can fit it to the cat’s body type. The listing advises the owner to measure the cat before buying, which is a fair first step with any harness.
The shoulder design
The bullets say the harness applies gentle pressure to the shoulders rather than the neck or throat. That is a design claim from the listing. The product description goes further and says the leash flexes with the cat’s movement and tightens across the shoulder straps. The listing says that this removes pressure from the throat area and prevents the cat from choking or escaping. Those are the manufacturer’s statements, and this guide does not repeat them as fact.
The leash attachment point matters for the same reason. The San Francisco SPCA says the leash attachment should be on the back of the harness, not at the neck. The listing does not say where the attachment sits on this harness, so the owner should look at the photos or the product in hand before the first walk.
Size and fit
The title gives a fit for small and average cats with a 10.5 to 14 inch girth. The listing gives the size as medium, and it says to make sure the harness fits snugly with room for a finger between the straps and the cat’s body. A cat that falls outside the girth range should not be fitted by guesswork. The listing does not give a weight range for the medium size.
Fitting a harness is a separate skill from fitting a collar. The harness should sit flat on the cat’s body, and the owner should check that the straps are not twisted before each walk. The listing does not describe a fit check schedule, so the owner should set one.
Training before walks
The San Francisco SPCA recommends starting harness training indoors so the cat is comfortable with it before going outside. Its guidance says to keep the leash loose and to follow the cat rather than pull it. It also says never to tie a cat’s leash to something outside and leave the cat, even for a minute or two. Those points apply to this harness and leash, because the listing does not give a training plan of its own.
Expect a period of adjustment. Many cats need several short sessions indoors before they accept the harness, and some cats do not accept one at all. The listing does not address this, so the owner should plan the first sessions around the cat’s behavior.
What we could not verify
The listing does not give a leash length, a weight range for the medium size, or the material of the harness body. It does not say whether the bungee leash is included with the harness, because the title and the spec fields do not agree. It does not give a warranty for the leash separately from the harness.
The listing does not state a release or breakaway feature for the harness. The buckle is the closure type named in the listing, so the owner should check the buckle and the straps before each walk.
How we chose this listing
This guide covers one listing, the PetSafe Come With Me Kitty Harness and Bungee Leash, medium, in lilac. It was chosen because it is a two-point cat harness with a bungee leash, a design owners often compare with other harness styles. The guide does not rank the product against other harnesses and does not state a price or a review. The facts come from the title, the bullets, the description and the spec fields, plus the sources at the end.
Who this suits
The harness suits an owner who wants a two-point fit and a bungee leash for a cat that falls within the 10.5 to 14 inch girth range. It suits an owner who plans to train indoors first and who wants a leash that gives as the cat moves.
It does not suit an owner whose cat is outside the listed girth range, or an owner who needs a stated leash length, a weight chart or a breakaway feature. For a related guide to cat harnesses, see the best cat harness for large cats guide. For a guide on escape-proof fit, see the best cat harness escape proof guide.
Safety and outdoor cats
The ASPCA’s enrichment page says that a cat should be closely and actively supervised while new items are accessible. A harness is a new item, and the first outdoor walks are a good time for close supervision. Cornell’s hazards page says that if an owner has an outdoor cat, the owner should take precautions when using these products in the yard. That applies to any leash and any tie point in the yard.
A harness does not make an outdoor walk risk free. The listing and the sources do not say that the harness will keep a cat from harm, so the owner should watch the cat, check the fit and keep the leash loose during each walk.
FAQ
What is the fit range for this harness?
Measure the cat’s girth before buying.
Does the listing include the leash?
The title names a bungee cat leash, but the spec fields list one harness. Check the package contents when the product arrives.
Should a cat wear this harness indoors first?
The San Francisco SPCA recommends starting harness training indoors so the cat is comfortable before going outside.
Can the leash be tied to something outside?
The San Francisco SPCA says not to tie a cat’s leash to something outside and leave the cat, even for a minute or two.
Sources
- San Francisco SPCA, Leash Training (Cats): start harness training indoors, keep the leash loose, do not tie a cat outside, and place the leash attachment on the back of the harness.
- Cornell Feline Health Center, Common Cat Hazards: outdoor cat owners should take precautions when using products in the yard.
- ASPCA, Feline DIY Enrichment: cats should be closely and actively supervised while new items are accessible.






